Monday, July 31, 2023

Thoughts on 5 New TV Shows

1. Dead Ringers - Overall, I loved this. There are definitely episodes that are far stronger than others, but as a whole, I think, it's pretty stunning. I decided to watch the Cronenberg film that it is based on again before I started this (I remember it being one of my lesser favorite Cronenberg films, but to be clear, I love them all except for the DISMAL A Dangerous Method). I'm glad I did because having it fresh in my mind, while watching this updated version definitely enhanced my enjoyment of it. First, I think the gender flip is BRILLIANT. This concept doesn't often work, but it makes so much sense in this context- and I think the story is overtly a female one, considering the subject matter. Second, it takes the usual Cronenberg style of deeply disturbing elements and amps it up even more - to the point in which it's actually quite shocking. But, it's interesting that a lot of the graphic scenes revolve around childbirth - which shouldn't actually be that shocking. As an audience, we are so desensitized by so many different types of violence, but these birthing scenes are so visceral. It feels rebellious and unapologetic, and while I really did not want to see it, I think it's still so effective. Third, I'm not sure if I've mentioned Rachel Weisz much on this blog, but I am definitely a huge fan. She's gorgeous, but also an extremely versatile actress. This is a very challenging role and I applaud any actor that attempts it. But, she fucking nailed it. I'm in disbelief that she was not nominated for an Emmy (the Limited Series Actress category is a a tough one this year - but she gives a far stronger performance than at least 3 of those nominees. I haven't seen Tiny Pretty Things, and Chastain & Fishback deserve those nominations. I think Fishback should win it, but if Weisz was nominated it would have been a tough call). On a funny sidenote - my husband (who does not watch a lot of tv/movies nor does he know who any actors/actresses are) came in the room while I was watching this and he said "oh is she actually a twin in real life?", "who, Rachel Weisz? Ummm no...", "Oh, I thought maybe she was a twin because she was in that Keanu Reeves movies as twins, too", *racks brain to figure out what he's talking about*, "Constantine?", "yeah, that one". And he's right! I'm fascinated that someone doesn't know who Rachel Weisz is and that he just knows her as "the actress from that Keanu Reeves movie" but whatever, at least he knows who Keanu Reeves is, I guess. Anyway, it is a weird coincidence that she's playing twins again, but she's really fucking good at it. Visually, you can tell the difference between the twins because one wears her hair back in a ponytail, but without that it would be very easy to distinguish between them because they are so different and have different mannerisms and expressions. This is just a brilliant performance - anyone who considers themselves as an acting enthusiast should definitely watch it. I could go on and on about why else I love this series (it's visually striking - those red doctor uniforms!, it's quite funny - "you look like a Larry, so I'm going to call you Larry" & the 3rd episode ending with the song "Super Freak" made me laugh hard, the after-credits scene that made my jaw drop, etc.), but it ultimately boils down to the fact that it's super dark, complicated, unapologetically female, and super fucked up. Totally my shit.  

2. Platonic - Very cute comedy series. Rose Byrne and Seth Rogen have a special kind of chemistry and I hope they continue to make stuff together. I don't think Rose gets the credit she deserves because she does more comedic roles, but the fact that she always seems so genuine and natural in these roles and makes it look easy, is a difficult thing to achieve. And she's so fantastic in that other Apple tv+ show, Physical, and that isn't all comedic (and she definitely should be in awards talk for Physical). But, I was also super excited by the supporting cast - the hot guy from Brothers & Sisters (and Bros), who is absolutely a terrible actor but he's HOT and also much better in this than his previous projects. AND Period Blood Girl from Superbad!!! That's her actual character name (look it up! It was a running joke back then with her roles being Toe Sucking Girl and Gag Me Girl in other projects). Her name is Carla Gallo, and she's been in a ton of projects, but I still find that whole thing very funny. She's very good as this side-kick best friend character. I'm kind of shocked that she's 48 years old, which means she was in her 30s for Superbad! I thought she was like 22 in that. Both her and Byrne look incredible for women in their 40s, and it's kind of dumb that they talk about being ignored by men because there is no way any man wouldn't look twice if Byrne walked past them let alone tried to talk to them. I think the show does a very good job at showing this insane pressure that is put on women to "do it all". In one of the first episodes she tells someone "I do not work, currently", as some sort of shameful thing to admit, and I screamed out "GIRL YOU ARE RAISING THREE WHOLE KIDS THAT IS WORK GODDAMMIT"! It doesn't seem like they necessarily need her to work, financially speaking, so it's CRAZY to me that she feels the pressure to go back to work in such a stressful environment. I get wanting to feel fulfilled and like you are contributing to the world, but I don't understand how raising children isn't enough to get that feeling? or like volunteering somewhere? It's definitely an interesting topic, though, and I think Byrne does this sort of pulled in many directions and feeling unfulfilled in a really genuine way. I'm not as impressed with Rogen's character - very typical man-child character that he does often, but he's still very funny to me. There are several very funny moments in the series - my favorite of the whole series is probably when Rogen's younger girlfriend says that she's "from Columbine" and asks "have you ever heard of it?". Byrne's facial expression matched mine exactly at that line. I guess a 25 year old wouldn't understand how triggering the word "Columbine" even is for people in their late 30s/early 40s, but it's still shocking to come to this realization. I also don't think most realize how funny/ironic the line "this is why I moved here from Colorado" is, as they look at a smog filled Los Angeles. I'm really hoping for a season 2, but I think with the writer & actor strike, a lot of shows that would have continued simply won't now. 

3. Silo -  *some spoilers ahead* I like this series a lot, but there are several things I don't like about it. It's a good show that could have easily been great, but some mistakes were made. The biggest mistake is probably casting Common. I'm not sure how or why he became an actor, and how or why he keeps getting roles, but it needs to stop. I actually liked him as a rapper (and I think he still does music stuff, right? I think he won an Oscar for Selma? Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't feel like looking it up), but I've never seen him give a good or even decent performance in anything. And he is absolutely painful to watch. I watched this show because my husband wanted to watch it (although with it starring Rebecca Ferguson, I probably would have had it on my list anyway). He's a big sci-fi nerd and had read the books that the series is based on (and told me a whole story about how this author is friends with the author of The Expanse, which is a tv series and book series that I enjoyed). And while we were watching a scene with Common, he turned to me and said "who is this guy? He's ruining the whole show.", so it's not just me being overly critical. I also think some of it is just really stupid? And this whole concept is just very excessive - the way they send people out to "clean", etc. If it really was this authoritarian post-apocalyptic new world order, they would just kill people who didn't follow along. Like the old woman that they are keeping drugged? Just kill her, why are they wasting resources? Makes no sense. And it's definitely waaaaay easier to just give all the men vasectomies than to surgically implant birth control in all of the women. If it was used to control women, then it would make sense, but women seem to hold high positions and be equal in this world, so it's simply to control the population. But when I pointed it out to my husband, he very flatly said "there is no way men would go along with that. They would go to war before being letting that happen", "so women should start killing people to attain bodily autonomy?", "yup". I mean, he's probably right, but it's so frustrating to think about. Anyway, the plot is all sort of obvious - I knew that there was something in the helmets that was either poisoning them, or making them hallucinate, but they wait all the way until episode 9 to reveal what's happening (I was pretty close). Some of the episodes drag on for way too long (episode 3, especially). BUT, overall, it's got an intriguing premise, and I am definitely interested in what happens next. And every time I pointed something out that doesn't make sense, my husband insists that it will be answered for (because it is in the books). He really likes the show, so I think that says a lot about it because not only is he a fan of the books, but he's often overly critical (even more so that I am!). The cast is great - mostly led by Ferguson, but a supporting cast of Tim Robbins, Rashida Jones, Harriet Walter & David Oyelowo all have moments to shine. And the world building is EXCELLENT, which is very important for sci-fi. It's all really cool to look at, and kind of reminds me of Westworld in a way. 

4. Beef - I'm not sure I agree with the crazy hype for this series, but it's...interesting. Like, it's very watchable and I couldn't figure out how each episode was going to play out, which is definitely a plus. But, it's also really over-the-top and not realistic or relatable in any way (at least I hope it's not relatable???? If it is to you, then maybe seek some therapy???). It starts off a bit realistically with a road rage incident (but again, can't relate - when someone has road rage, I just let them go - I would never, ever pursue someone. And if someone followed me, I would drive to the local police or fire station, or call the police and report them right away). They way these two just don't give up is absolutely insane to me. I do think Ali Wong's character is a bit more insane than Steven Yeun's. I just don't think a wealthy woman would let a stranger into her house. Or MASTERBATE WITH A GUN. What the fuck?! She's a full-on psychopath. I also think they make her look late 40s for the whole show and she is younger than me (I think it's the hair. It changes throughout the series, but it goes from bad to worse). Her fashion sense is also really questionable, too (what the fuck is up with the Blossom hat in the beginning?). While I think Yeun's character is just going through a bit of a rough time and he's had enough of the world shitting on him (that's, at least, understandable). I also think that Yeun is absolutely fantastic in this. I don't think the show or the other performances were worthy of Emmy nominations, but Yeun definitely deserves his nomination for that emotional breakdown in the church alone (Taron should win in that category, though, obvi. Sadly it's probably going to go to Evan Peters, who is also good). He has an incredible voice, too. His version of "Drive" and "Amazing Grace" are both so beautiful. There are a few other things that I really like about the show. The use of 90s music is odd, but also so good. There are some genuinely funny moments (like when he yells at his brother "this is a bot" and his brother types "R u a bot" as his next message. I was dying.). Overall, though, I think it's decent. Not worthy of all the praise. And the final few episodes really go off the rails. I also know that there was some controversy surrounding David Choe that definitely negatively impacted the series because SO many people were talking about it, and then the next day everyone was like "fuck that show and fuck that cast" (I guess the other cast members supported him? I didn't really follow it. It's so hard to keep track of all the awful people in Hollywood). 

5. The Crowded Room - I wouldn't have known about the terrible reviews for this if Tom Holland didn't talk about how bad the reviews were multiple times in interviews. I think that's such a weird approach for an actor to take while promoting the show???? I've definitely heard actors talk about regretting projects or how disappointed they were about reviews from past projects, but usually years later. I think the biggest issue Holland is having with his career is he's being SOOO miscast in things and I don't really feel like he has a passion for any of them. I think he needs to take a step back and really assess the type of actor he wants to be, and the career that he wants to have. I know that he did take a step back from acting for a year because apparently this role really affected him mentally. But I think that's kind of weird, because so far (I'm on the 6th episode), he hasn't really done any acting that seems mentally draining. And as a professional, you should be able to distance yourself (which is why I find method acting such nonsense and unnecessary. I remember when Taron - yes, I'm mentioning him again in the same post, deal with it - was filming Black Bird and he posted videos of him singing and dancing to the Bee Gees between filming and riding a bike around New Orleans, and I thought now that seems like a healthy way of handling a mentally and emotionally draining role.). Anyway, the reviews are right, unfortunately. This show is just plain bad, so far. It's the oddest thing in the world to not reveal the "twist" right away, considering it's a well-known true story. But also, maybe they thought it wasn't well known, so the creators decided to make it a twist? But they are doing a terrible job at it? I'm pretty sure that even if I didn't know that all of these people don't exist, I would still guess it right away. It's such a shame because I do love this cast. I will still stick up for Holland because I think he's adorable and overall a solid actor in the right roles. Amanda Seyfried has given some incredible performances, and in this she's so blah. She's not really given much to do so far, it's just a lot of back and forth dialogue between her and Holland's character, but I don't feel any emotion from either of them. It feels like a table read and not the final product. And speaking of very not given much to do, I practically forgot that Emmy Rossum was even in this (and HIS MOTHER FOR CHRIST'S SAKE! She's only 36! It makes sense in the flashback scenes, I GUESS....) until she is finally given a purpose in episode 5. I also really like Emma Laird (she's the best part of The Mayor of Kingstown) and Sasha Lane. But, everyone else (aka "the crowd") is AWFUL. Also, the makeup they put on Holland to make him look pale and sickly is distracting. I was surprised to find out that Brady Corbet directed some of these episodes (while I didn't love Vox Lux, it was, at least, interesting and surprising in a lot of ways. This is not.). 

Thursday, July 27, 2023

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. Magic Mike's Last Dance -
I like Channing Tatum a lot, but I don't love these movies. I rated the previous Magic Mike movies 2.5 stars - which I think to most people means "bad", but to me it just means that they are very average. And I would rate this one the same. However, I do think, personally, I liked it a bit more than the previous two. A big part of this is because of Salma Hayek. She's still one of the most gorgeous women on the planet, and I love that she's 56 years old and still playing this sexy siren character. Her and Channing have insane chemistry together, and I definitely rooted for them to get together in the end. While there are plenty of sensual dance scenes, the "Suavemente" one stood out to me because it felt the most natural. The rest of the movie felt a little repetitive and boring. There are a few really great dance performances, specifically, the bus scene is fan-fucking-tastic - I wish it were longer, though. And then the final "show" (the point of the whole movie) starts off painful (her wishing for all these different "dreamy" qualities in men **rolls eyes* *barfs*), but then....it ends spectacularly with the balance of this sensual strip tease combined with the ballet performance. I knew we were going to get a dance in the rain (I think it was in the trailer, maybe?), but I was still stunned by it. I think we have to give credit to Usher for that, though...right? Maybe it was done before him, but I will never forget Usher's VMA performance from the early 2000s where he sings his heart out on a rain soaked stage. Anyway, there are a few parts of the movie that are very bad. The narration by the daughter is *awful*; actually I feel like her entire character was pointless and could have been cut altogether. The whole plot of the movie feels overdone and I don't really understand the point of this whole theater performance as a way of revenge to her husband? The whole movie just feels kind of unnecessary, but I like the romance part (which is weird for me, I think). 

2. American Murderer -
Wow...this is a terrible movie. I can't even think of anything nice to say about it except that I will always love Ryan Phillippe (even after he does God-awful movies like this). I didn't really know anything about this, but I saw Ryan on the poster and pressed play (as I do with all of his movies). It's actually an interesting story of a con-man that is based on a real life person, but it's just a terribly made movie. The dialogue is insanely bad and it's so Obvious that he's a con-artist that it's impossible to believe that anyone would fall for any of it (but they did in real life, so I just think the writing is bad here. We, as an audience, are supposed to know he's a con, but we should at least understand how others fell for it). The narrative structure is a little confusing and the editing feels very choppy. There is a strong supporting cast here - and I think Ryan would even be considered in a supporting role. They definitely should have focused more on him trying to find this man (how it effected his life, etc.) instead of focusing on the main guy. I refuse to look up his name because he's that bad of an actor and I hope I never hear from him again. He's soap opera bad (and a lot of big actors started on soaps (even Ryan started on one!) but they learn and grow as actors. This guy was not ready to star in a movie). He also looks like he's 55 trying to be 25 and it's embarrassing. But, along with Ryan, the other supporting actors are Jacki Weaver (in a terrible wig), Idina Menzel and Shantal VanSanten. Shantal also starred in that Shooter tv series with Ryan, so I wonder if they are friends? They would make a cute couple. I think she's married, though. 

3. Living -
This is a very sweet movie. It's not exactly something I will remember; nor do I think it deserved the accolades it received (Oscar nominated for Actor and Adapted Screenplay, although I am a big fan of Ishiguro), but it's perfectly Okay. The highlight for me, is Aimee Lou Wood - she's from Sex Education. I've never seen her in anything else, but I'm such a big fan of everyone from that cast. Such strong young talent - and I think they are all going to be big stars (Emma Mackey and Ncuti Gatwa are already well on their way). Wood is so adorable in this - very sweet and charming, and definitely brightens the story a bit. I couldn't really figure out what the plot was until they reveal that he (Bill Nighy's character) is dying. I'm not sure if that was mentioned earlier than when I caught on and maybe I missed it because it's a bit boring in the beginning. But, I still don't think there's much of a plot or story. Also, when his funeral happens, I thought "ok, well that, at least, moved very quickly for a 100 minute movie", but there's still 30 minutes left after that (LOL). The characters aren't completely developed, either, so it all feels very blah. Nighy is...fine. I think he plays the same type of character that he always plays, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but I don't think that deserves any awards or nominations. 

4. 65 -
This movie is...awful. You would think that a movie with DINOSAURS would be thrilling, but there is very little suspense. Or character development. Or plot. As you may already know, I'm not the biggest Adam Driver fan, but I've said nice things about him in a few projects (Star Wars, The Dead Don't Die). I just don't understand how he got SO big SO quickly (and I'm baffled as to how he's already been nominated for TWO Oscars, plus multiple Emmy nominations. He even has a Tony nomination! At this rate, he's going to EGOT and I'm going to want to slam my fists into the wall just like the Marriage Story meme). I think his performance in films like this, really prove my point because as bad as this is, if he was an actually strong actor, he could still shine and make this movie watchable for the acting alone. And I will use Taron as an example for this, because I'm still bitter that Driver was nominated the year that Taron should have been. Because Taron has done some bad movies, for sure, like Robin Hood, but he actually gives a great performance as the lead role - perfectly charming and captivating. He still gave it 100%. Meanwhile, it feels like Driver is literally asleep through 75% of this movie and then he wakes up when a dinosaur appears. I have two nice things to say about this movie. First, the girl who plays his daughter (again, I'm lazy and I don't feel like looking it up, but I will eventually) is a really, really strong actress - and has been in SO MANY big projects, but only in very small roles (Dungeons and Dragons, Marry Me, Gunpowder Milkshake). She deserves a starring role in something STAT. And two, there is one shot that is *on point* - the lightening shot with the dinosaur appearing is SO GOOD (so good that it's on the poster). I wish more of the movie captured my attention like that, but overall I was bored by about 15 minutes in and I never recovered. 

5. Emily -
I wanted this to be a bit better than it was. I just think that there has been some really great projects with the same sort of story recently (like Dickinson, Gerwig's Little Women adaptation, and Emma. spring to mind instantly - all much better than this movie). Also, I really, really like Emma Mackey and I can't wait for her to be a HUGE star on the same level as Margot Robbie (who she is constantly compared to, but I don't really see the similarity? They have very different faces and angles). And I thought that Joe Alwyn was in this, because he comes up when you google the cast, but apparently he dropped out of this project and the guy from The Haunting of Hill House took his place. I do like that guy (I don't know his name, but I shall look it up after I'm done writing this), but he's no Joe Alwyn. Fionn Whitehead was so awful in Voyagers so I was weary of him, but he's matured a lot in a very short timespan. But the cast just doesn't wow me like they should - it's all a bit dull and the chemistry is off. There are some stunning shots, but it all feels a little bit like a Terrence Malick parody with them twirling in the grass or running in the rain. As for the story, I don't know much about Emily Bronte, and guess what? After watching this, I still don't feel like I know very much about her because they focus on a non-existent love story - and theorize that this loss of this love and betrayal by her brother was the catalyst for her to write one of the greatest novels of all time (Wuthering Heights). Usually I appreciate a bit of fictionized history, but it feels a little offensive in this case to create these circumstances that revolve around men, when she was such a strong-willed woman who seemed to have little interest in men. It's just an odd focus for this biopic. Anyway, I do think there is a really strong use of sound in this film - from the background waves and birds chirping, to the heavy, rhythmic breathing, to the use of silence - it's all very breathtaking. 

Sunday, July 16, 2023

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. The Son -
I was hoping for the best with this because The Father is a stunning movie. I think if I reassessed my top 10 of 2021, it would have made the cut because it's a film that I think about often. But this got mostly mid to terrible reviews, and unfortunately those reviews are right. It just doesn't have the same impact. And it is completely ruined by the truly awful performance by the kid in this movie. I have never seen him in anything before, but I'm stunned that he got this role in a film with huge talented stars like Hugh Jackman, Vanessa Kirby, and Laura Dern. The Father also has such an interesting narrative and plays with memory & perspective, while this is just flat and linear. And just really, terribly boring. I think it's fairly obvious that *major spoilers ahead* this kid is definitely going to kill himself by the end. But...I think it's weird that they spend the whole film making us feel like it's the father's fault because he left his mother and started a new family. Again, I just never connect with these types of stories, because, ultimately he still has two parents who love him and support him. It would be different if he didn't want to be a part of his son's life anymore, but that's not the case, so what exactly is he so angry about? I do think that the best and most impactful part of the film is the end, even though I knew how it was going to end, it's still very heartbreaking to witness. And I say this from personal experience, having someone I was close to die by suicide is one of the worst things I've ever experienced and the feeling of guilt never goes away. The guilt is because I listened to other people - people who told me that he was "fine" and that I shouldn't contact him because he was embarrassed by his first attempt at suicide ("if you call him now, he'll know that we told you and he doesn't want anyone to know"). So I didn't. And then a week later he shot himself in the head. So, always listen to your gut and don't let others stop you from reaching out to people. And be super alert if someone attempts suicide and then suddenly seems "fine". Anyway, I've gone a bit too personal, but I think a lot of people can relate to this guilt that the father feels at the end. I was a little disturbed by his wife's comment of "life goes on" - I understand her intent is to focus on their baby and their new life together, but it's such a fucked up statement. People need time to process (and sometimes that takes years). I wish the rest of the movie was this effective, but overall, it's not good at all. 

2. Creed III -
So I remember liking the Creed movies, but I remember very little about them. So then I tried to remind myself about them before starting this one by reading my own reviews/thoughts, but I didn't rate Creed II on Letterboxd and I had no review of it on this blog, so then I thought "well no wonder I don't remember it! I didn't see it!", so I started watching that first, only to realize that I did, in fact, watch it. This is a really long-winded way of saying that I have a terrible memory and rely on my film diaries so much. It's weird that I didn't log it or blog about it, but I definitely have no interest in re-watching it, so I stopped it and started the 3rd one. And now I know why I have no recollection of the first two. It's a good movie, but nothing about it stands out. I appreciate Michael B. Jordan's first attempt at directing - he's in such a strong position in Hollywood to really push open doors for young black creatives, and he took his chance with this. I think it's smart to pick something that already has such a strong fanbase, and something that he's already made a successful mark in. People definitely respond to the Creed movies in a positive way, I just don't really connect with them (but I also don't think I need to). From a genuine, critical perspective, I think it feels a little amateur and cliché. Specifically, *some spoilers ahead* the big final scene in the ring when the audience disappears - just next-level awful camerawork. And the "bro" dialogue is *cringe*. The scene with his mom feels forced (his mom had a stroke and is on her literal death bed, but is still perfectly conscious and functioning on her literal death bed...uhhh okay, sure?). But, it is a very watchable movie. Perfectly fine. Jonathon Majors is such a good villain - like genuinely terrifying. I can't imagine he'll have very many roles going forward, at least for the next few years (I definitely think Marvel is rethinking Kang as the way forward). Also, I thought Phylicia Rashad was "cancelled"? 

3. Run Rabbit Run -
This could have been a good movie, or at least, an average movie. But, unfortunately, it's very dull and lifeless. It reminds me of Umma - completely different stories, but both about generational trauma, featuring a single mother, and both boring as FUCK. There are a few really interesting scenes and it's atmospherically creepy, but there's also just a lot of shots of the wind. It's windy...ooooooooh.....scaaaarrrry...type shots. And kids are always creepy - I've said that many times, but at this point I just need something different. It also sort of reminds me of The Good Son with the ending (that is extremely predictable). I really like Sarah Snook, though. I think she really developed as an actress during her run on Succession, and I'm interested in what she'll take on next. She definitely seems more comfortable with her natural Australian accent (her American accent is soooo wonky on Succession). And they did a really fantastic job at casting her daughter in this, and she's a good little actress. Overall, this movie is just missing something. And, in reality, this little girl needs to be taken away - abuse is abuse even if it's unintentional. 

4. Evil Dead Rise -
Ughhhhh this movie kind of sucks and I don't understand why it was reviewed so positively? First, and the most frustrating for me, the accents are WILD. Why even set this in Los Angeles if most of your cast are from Australia or New Zealand? It would not have effected the story at all to just set it in an apartment building in either of those countries. Instead we have to listen to the cast struggle for the entire runtime. Second, the opening title card is so fucking stunning - possibly one of the best I've ever seen - and then nothing in the movie after that matches this. It's incredibly frustrating. Third, the film never lets you connect to any of these characters before they start getting possessed. And two of those kids are TERRIBLE actors (not necessary to name them since they are kids, but WOW, just awful performances), so I couldn't care less if they die. And last, I waited the whole movie to see how the beginning connects to this isolated story and....uh...seriously? *spoiler* This girl was IN this building the whole time and did not hear all the noise around her or see a bloody elevator or the building falling apart around her? And how did she get down the stairs that were destroyed? It's SOOOO stupid. Anyway, I do like both the main actresses (one of them reminds me a lot of Elizabeth Banks), so that's something. 

5. Infinity Pool -
I love this. Definitely my favorite movie of the year, so far (although I haven't seen many great films this year. This, Tetris, and Missing are the only movies I rated 4 stars so far). I kind of knew that I was going to love it because Brandon Cronenberg hasn't disappointed yet - and he's still such a new voice in filmmaking. He's only going to get better and I can't wait to see where his mind goes next. I went into the movie fairly blind, and I suggest anyone interested do the same. It's an interesting concept, for sure - a very wealthy group of people basically find a way to commit crimes and get away with it, but also feel punished at the same time. It's like masochism-lite. It's also an interesting sci-fi take on how clones can be used and abused by the wealthy. I think there's also some commentary on the touristification of different cultures - there is a way to immerse yourself in someone else's culture without being offensive and exploitative, but I feel like most people don't know where the line is. There's just a lot to love about this - the circular camera tilts used in the beginning to create a disorienting effect are perfectly done (this can also feel amateur if not done right, but it's nailed here), and Mia Goth with THAT accent - I know it was actually criticized which is kind of hilarious because it's her real accent, but I thought it was fabulous and it fit this character so well. The film takes unexpected risks, and mixes up genres, but I also feel like it never goes too weird (as in, it never goes weird just to BE weird - every weird moment feels purposeful and propels the story forward). Even the orgy scenes feel tasteful with the way it was filmed. 

Wednesday, July 12, 2023

Emmy Nominations: The Good, The Bad, and The Snubbed

The Good: 

- HELLOOOO My number one favorite, Taron Egerton, now an EMMY NOMINEE for Black Bird!!! He absolutely deserves it for the 5th episode alone. Also thrilled about his nominated co-stars, Paul Walter Hauser and the late Ray Liotta. 

- My favorite acting performance of the year is probably from Dominique Fishback in Swarm. Just an incredible and super nuanced performance that only someone with actual acting talent can get right. 

- I'm not the biggest fan of Succession (EEEK!). It's a GOOD show, but the way everyone goes on about it and puts it up there with Breaking Bad and The Sopranos is just hard for me to wrap my head around. However, this year, I do think that both Sarah Snook and Kieran Culkin deserve the nominations (and even the win!) for their performances. Snook is absolutely brilliant in that 3rd episode. And Culkin has been the highlight for me since the beginning. 

- Yay for Niecy Nash!! I adore her and she definitely gave a memorable performance in Dahmer. I hope she wins it. 

- Jessica Williams is HILARIOUS in Shrinking. As much as I love Sheryl Lee Ralph in Abbott Elementary, I think I'm rooting for Williams. 

- Judith Light for that guest spot in Poker Face!!! She's absolutely brilliant (but so was S. Epatha Merkerson!). It's my favorite episode of that show by far. 

- So many of my favorites nominated - it's hard to list them all but some included are Natasha Lyonne, Jenna Ortega, Keri Russell, everyone from The Bear and Ted Lasso, the list goes on...

- Are we finally over the love for SNL? It hasn't been funny in decades and yet there's always cast members filling out the supporting categories in comedy. This year it seems only guests got in (one for Pedro Pascal! I'll allow it, even though every skit I watched was painful). 

The Bad: 

- While I think they did a really good job this year, there are a few shows that I think earn nominations simply because they are trendy and/or had great promotion and Daisy Jones and The Six is absolutely that show this year. Everything about it is actually terrible except maybe Camila Morrone (still not an Emmy worthy performance, but I like her a lot in this). 9 nominations for this series is truly ridiculous. 

- I knew the Television Academy would fall head over heals for Fleishman is in Trouble even though it's a load of misogynistic crap (my thoughts on it are on this blog if you're interested). Lizzy is fine, but Claire Danes crying is an awards trap and they fell right in. 

- They really need to do something about the categories because The Bear and Barry are not comedies. It's a disservice to the nominees to be up against actual funny performances. I think it's going to cause Sudeikis to take the win again - and I do love him in Ted Lasso, but Jeremy Allen White & Bill Hader are in harder roles and knocking it out of the park. 

- The Outstanding Supporting Drama performance categories are embarrassing. The Actor one is worse with literally only 2 shows represented (and most of those performances are mediocre, at best), but even the Actress one is very limited. The only performance worth noting in The White Lotus is Meghann Fahy. 

- The Limited Series Category is also terrible - Obvi, I hate Fleishman and Daisy Jones, but I like Beef (I will write my thoughts on it soon), and I also liked Dahmer. I watched Obi-Wan Kenobi and I don't remember a thing about it. HOWEVER, none of these shows should be nominated when you have shows like Black Bird, Dead Ringers, Five Days at Memorial, George & Tammy, Swarm etc. as competition. It's wild! 

- I'm sorry but the final season of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel is one of the worst final seasons of television ever. It ruined the entire show for me. Erase it off the list, now, please. 

- I think it was super egotistical of Brian Cox to submit himself in the Lead Actor category when he's only in the first 3 episodes of the season. The academy should have shut him out because of it and given the nod to an actual lead performance. 

- The love for The Last of Us *rolls eyes*

The Snubbed: 

- I can't believe I'm saying this but how did Harrison Ford not get a nomination for Shrinking? It should have also been nominated for Comedy Series (especially over Wednesday??? That's also not a comedy). 

- Rachel Weisz is incredible in Dead Ringers playing dual roles. You're telling me that Riley Keough singing (badly) and pretending to be high for 10 episodes is a better performance? (again, LOVE Riley, but this was bad casting).

- As happy as I am for the performance nods, Black Bird missed several nominations it should have gotten - not only for series, but for writing & directing (it did get one cinematography nod). 

- Vera Farmiga and Cherry Jones gave incredible performances in Five Days in Memorial. I'm really surprised that series was completely shut out. 

- Nobody watches it so it's no surprise that it was ignored, but one of the best shows on television is Apple TV+'s For All Mankind

Sunday, July 9, 2023

Film Retrospective Part II: Thoughts on 10 Films (pre-1970)

1. Mildred Pierce - [blind spot] I was severely misled on this movie and I have no idea how/when/why it happened, but for some reason, I always thought this movie was about a neglectful horrible mother, when in fact it is the exact opposite???!! How the Hell did I get that in my head? I loved it. Every second of it is just so good. It feels modern and feminist, which is rare for a film from the 1940s. And Joan Crawford is spectacular. The mystery is really engaging and I love the misdirection. Plus, it's gorgeous - the noir, shadowy vibe, the costume design, etc., just perfect. So perfect that I rated it 4 1/2 stars (it might even be a 5 star film, I just hesitate to rate anything 5 stars, but in a few years time I might reassess). 

2. Gentlemen Prefer Blondes - [blind spot] Uhhh so this might just be one of my favorite movies of all-time??? It's so funny and sarcastic and witty - and the screen presence of Jane Russell/Marilyn Monroe as a comedic duo is absolutely incredible. They have fantastic chemistry together. I've always like Marilyn, but I haven't actually seen a lot of her films. I have seen, and also love her in, Some Like it Hot (another favorite of mine) and I think I've seen The Seven Year Itch too (that's the one with the famous white dress that blows upwards right?). But this, officially, makes me a huge fan of hers. And yet, as much as I love Monroe, Russell is definitely the highlight of this - her facial expressions are beyond hilarious and she is STUNNING. It's always so weird to me when I know all of the lyrics to songs but haven't watched the movie/stage production. I think this is a product of being a drama major & being in show choir in Junior High (I'm pretty sure we sang "Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend" as part of a USO performance). But it was fun actually seeing the original versions of these songs. And the costumes are perfection - so many iconic, recognizable looks. It's such a cute story, too!

3. Marnie - [re-watch] I didn't remember liking this Hitchcock and I was right! It's not bad; just not among Hitch's best. There are some classic Hitchcockian shots - like with her in the bathroom stall, and the one where she's stealing from the safe with the cleaning lady in the next room. Just perfect blocking and angles. But it's way too long and there's just not enough story to warrant the length. The score is also very overwhelming (and not in a good way). I love Tippi Hedrin though (and I didn't actually realize that she's still alive until I looked it up. 93 and still going strong! Sean Connery was an awful actor, though (and an even worse human being!). I'm baffled as to how he had such a successful career. 

4. Murder! - [re-watch] Another Hitch that I've seen, but rated very low. It's not as bad as I remember, and there is actually a lot I like about it. It's very early Hitch, but the intrigue and suspense is there - just not as expertly crafted as most of his filmography. Also, this just had to be inspiration for 12 Angry Men, right? There's something really off about the sound, which bothered me (maybe just the streaming service? But it sounded muffled and echoed). I was also definitely not expecting the end. Chilling. 

5. A Streetcar Named Desire - [re-watch, mostly] This is one of those films that I never watched the full movie in one sitting, but I definitely watched (and analyzed) scenes of it for one of my Drama classes (It was a course on Stage to Screen films) and I've seen the play performed (I think it was an off-Broadway production? I don't really remember but I remember the stage design being really cool because it was designed in a circle), and I've read the Tennessee Williams play several times. The movie is ok; not great. I like the production design here too, but it does still feel like a play instead of being more cinematic. I've never really been a fan of Marlon Brando (I mean, except in The Godfather, of course), but it is so stupidly weird how fucking hot he was when he was younger. Ugh his hotness combined with the crisp white tee *heart eyes emoji*. SO HOT. 

6. The Searchers - [blind spot] I actually think I've probably seen this with my grandfather but I was probably, like, 8 years old, being forced to watch another western with John Wayne. They all bleed together in my mind so I think watching them as an adult might have a different effect (maybe?). I picked this one to watch first because of Natalie Wood. I just adore her. She's not in this very much, but definitely the highlight. I definitely went into the film expecting the blatant racism, so no surprise there, but it's still sort of horrifying to watch. It's also weird, and a bit disappointing, to watch an older classic like this and realize that a more modern film that I love is basically just a copy of this (Bone Tomahawk). 

7. The Trouble with Harry - [re-watch] There will probably be a lot of Hitchcock films on these retrospective posts, because I love watching his movies. Even the ones that I don't like are still worth multiple watches. I actually didn't really remember much about this one, which is why I added it to my list. I really liked it - and there are some incredible moments, especially the beginning - what a stunning opening shot with the kid standing over the body with his toy gun. It's also a very funny movie. I mean darkly funny, but still funny nonetheless. Also, Shirley MacLaine's film debut! I accidentally did a Shirley double-bill with this and this next movie on my list. 

8. The Apartment - [blind spot] This definitely was not what I was expecting, but I liked it very much. I think I was expecting something much more laugh out loud funny, but it's actually super dark and the subject matter is certainly not funny. I think it would have a completely different vibe if someone tried to remake this (although, the concept of the "hooking up" apartment has been used with The Loft). It's about a man who rents out his apartment to his co-workers so they can cheat on their wives. And then he stalks one of his co-workers (he even brags to her about knowing her social security number LOL), and then she attempts to commit suicide in his apartment! Just super...not funny. It is impeccably made, though - and that one office scene is a classic (that I have also seen and analyzed before, and I completely forgot about it until I started watching this). Plus, Shirley MacLaine is a national treasure! It's clear, from this, why she became such a big star.  I've always liked Jack Lemmon too - just genuinely funny and had great screen presence. Also, can we talk about how this apartment that is outside Central Park in NYC costs $85/mo to rent? 60 years later and that apartment now costs about $14,000/mo (and that's a low-ball figure).

9. Funny Girl - [blind spot] I can't believe that this is a blind spot for me, considering that I belt out "Don't Rain on my Parade" and "My Man" REGULARLY. That's mostly thanks to Glee though. I thought I would be first in line to see Lea Michele back on Broadway when Glee ended, but there were so many horrible things reported about her and I just can't support someone like that. I thought, at first, that maybe she was just young and misguided (and she let her early celebrity ego get the best of her), but there's just no excuse for some of the things that came out about her. But, that doesn't take away from the fact that she is talented and is probably the only person who can do Barbara Streisand justice (sorry, I have nothing against Beanie Feldstein, but almost every review said that she didn't have the vocal chops for the role). Anyway, as far as the film goes - I LOVED it. First, Streisand is HILARIOUS. Like, I've seen her in more modern roles (and of course Beaches), but this feels like a sort of rebellious funny, and I LOVE IT. Second, I love the fact that it's a feminist story, but also not black & white - she's a big star, with talent, money, fame, power, the whole shebang, but she's also in love and wants to make the man in her life happy. The lesson is that he's never going to be happy, though, unless he's the more accomplished person in the relationship. And if someone isn't championing you and your successes, then they don't truly love you. It's a tough lesson to learn, but this film tackles it really well. And last, the costume design is so stellar. That leopard coat and pillbox hat - iconic. 

10. Hello, Dolly - [blind spot] I didn't really like this one. I thought I might enjoy it since I liked Funny Girl so much and Barbara Streisand. But this just didn't capture my attention at all. Although it does have another iconic fashion moment with the lavender dress and matching feather hat. It feels a little too whimsical to me, and definitely inspired by Mary Poppins (maybe I should add that to my retrospective considering I've never seen the whole thing in one sitting?). I knew every single song, which, again, is due to being a theater geek. But the actual "Hello, Dolly" number is like an entire hour long, which is mind-numbing. I was singing along at first, but then it just keeps going and now I hate the song with all my heart and I hope to never hear it again. 

Saturday, July 1, 2023

Best Films of 2022 ***Updated***

Here's my annual updated Best Of list! Not much has changed - only 3 added, but one of those took the top spot! 

1. Aftersun
2. Babylon
3. After Yang
4. Saint Omer
5. Triangle of Sadness
6. Men
7. Resurrection
8. Everything Everywhere All at Once
9. Emergency
10. Blonde
10.5. The Banshees of Inisherin 

I know there are a few movies on this list that everyone seems to actively hate (Blonde, Babylon, Men, Triangle of Sadness), but what can I say? I like what I like. *shrugs shoulders*. Also, I was able to see *most* of the films that I wanted to see before this update, but I did not get a chance to watch The Whale or the Avatar sequel, but I doubt either of those would make the list. But who knows??! 

Friday, June 30, 2023

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. The Mother -
This has a really strong beginning with the FBI safehouse scene, but unfortunately, I lost complete interest in it about 30 minutes in and then I had to stop it about an hour in and finish it the next day (although this has been happening to me more and more lately...I'm getting old! I need my sleep!). It just felt so long and predictable...and pointless. It also feels like a Liam Neeson movie, but with JLo in the Neeson role. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but in this case, it is. Lopez seems to take the role a little too seriously, which works for Neeson because it's what he does so well. She's just dull and dry, and boring to watch. And surely, Gael Garcia Bernal and Joseph Fiennes deserve better roles than being supporting villains in a Netflix JLo movie??? Aren't they like Oscar nominees?? (they...are not. I just looked it up. But they should be!). The whole story is just wildly overdone and beyond reality. I can't even praise the action sequences or fight choreography because I watched it a few weeks ago and I can't remember any single moment about it. Just a full waste of talent all around. Can't even muster up anything else to say about it. 

2. Saint Omer -
What a devastatingly beautiful movie. I saw this on many Best of 2022 lists, and as we approach July, I am putting my updated list together, so I'm trying to ensure I've seen everything that might effect my list (this will surely be on it). I wasn't really sure if it lived up to the hype as I was watching it, but the ending is packed with so much emotion - it's going to haunt me for the rest of my life. As for the rest of it, it's very simple but incredibly effective. It's super interesting to watch how the justice system works in France. The way the judge reads out everything in a very fact-based way, while also referencing key moments in the life of this accused woman (she is accused of killing her baby). It seems weird to me, an American, because in an American courtroom most of this would be objected by one of the lawyers as not being relevant to the case. But, it seems necessary in certain cases - although I don't think it would effect the guilty or not-guilty outcome, I do think it helps us learn about human psychology and behavior, therefore possibly effecting future crimes and cases. I think my point is that we don't focus on prevention enough in America (or empathy, but that's a whole other can of worms). As simple as the story is, I never found my mind wandering, instead I stayed very focused. I did, however, start to question the point of it all - until I found myself getting very angry. And then I realized that THAT was the point. From the moment that the father started to speak (and I just knew it was an old white man), my blood started to boil. And when he says "her silence was aggressive" - such a loaded statement about black women because it doesn't matter if they yell or sit in silence, they will still be branded as "aggressive" and it's heartbreaking and disgusting. The rhythmic breathing sounds add to the intensity, leading to that aforementioned ending. The speech by the defense lawyer is breathtaking - how women carry trauma and pass it down, both physically and spiritually. Invoking Greek tragic figures such as Medea, Circe etc., the "she tried but she lost" defense, watching the other women in the courthouse fight back tears because they can relate to every word. It's perfect. And what sensational performances from Kayije Kagame and Guslagie Malanda. There's very little dialogue, but I felt that I knew what they were thinking in every moment. 

3. Chevalier -
I like this movie - it's probably not something that I'm going to remember years from now, but overall I was entertained and the acting is really strong. I do think they could have taken things a bit further, especially finding out that he "went on to lead the first black regiment of the French Revolution" during the fucking credits??? What the fuck, that's kind of a huge part of his story and far more interesting than the entire 120 minute preceding it! But the story that they do tell is fairly interesting, as well. I think it's kind of hilarious that when the trailer for this came out people complained about it being woke, only to be told it's based on a true story (I wish those people had enough self-awareness to feel incredibly stupid, but sadly they do not. They'll just move on to the next racist thing to complain about). It's also 100% about his race and how he is an anomaly in this world of composing and classical music. I didn't realize that Samara Weaving was in this, so that was a pleasant surprise, but, as expected, Kelvin Harrison Jr. knocks this out of the park. He's such a good actor and, like, nobody talks about it. Minnie Driver is also in this, which was also a surprise because I haven't seen her in anything in so long (I actually thought she retired from acting? Or did I imagine that?). The story is good, if a little predictable. It's definitely not an unfamiliar story, but there are some powerful scenes and I like the parallels between his relationship with Samara's character and his own parents. But again, I think it could have been taken to much darker places, and I would have loved to see more of his rise as a leader in the revolution. 

4. Extraction 2 -
Not a big fan of the first one, but I didn't hate it and it had some great action sequences. But I also remember it being really ugly and yellow. I actually think I liked this one slightly better. It definitely looks better and we get to know the main character a bit more (I totally forgot his name was Tyler Rake. LOL). I also like Chris Hemsworth a little more than I did a few years ago. The story is pretty much the same - him and his team "extract" a prisoner (and her two children). But, let's talk about what these films are known for - the camera-work, which is definitely the highlight. The previous one had an extensive one-shot (I don't remember how long it was, but it was impressive...I think?), but this one really expands on that with the prison sequence. It's advertised as a "21 minute one-shot" scene, but there are several obvious cuts and they are fairly easy to spot (I say several, but there are at least 2 per minute so at least 40 that I spotted with just one viewing. I'm sure there is even more if I really analyzed it). HOWEVER, it is brilliantly done - impressively choreographed and executed, creating an exhilarating and memorable action sequence. The rest of the movie is a little ridiculous. Entertaining, but ridiculous. I literally screamed "just shoot him in the head" multiple times to multiple characters because that's the best option in the moment, but then I guess the movie would be over and that's no fun. Also, that boy is fucking stupid, just let him go. And I can't get over how he consistently gets his ass beat and then has like one tiny scratch on his forehead. Or that he was basically dead, but then back in full-action mode within...months? I don't actually know how much time has gone by. They probably mentioned it when I wasn't paying attention, but either way it's dumb. If you break that many bones in your body - it will have residual effects on your body for the rest of your life. Annnywaaay, I also hate that his partner, played by Golshifteh Farahani, doesn't put her hair up at any point during these action scenes. It's just flying into her face, covering her eyes, impeding her ability to fight and she just lets it happen like an idiot (I mean, I put my hair up to do simple tasks like eating. Most women do?). And speaking of Farahani, I know she's been in a lot of stuff, including the first film, but I'll never forget her performance in About Elly. She's an incredible actress and definitely deserves more than these types of roles. Also, I can't believe that Olga Kurylenko plays his wife! And she has like 4 lines! Remember when she was going to be the next big thing? Now she's playing bit part wife roles. Thanks, I hate it. 

5. Reality -
This is an interesting movie - it's entire dialogue is based off of the actual recording that took place during Reality's first interview/interrogation and search of her home. I didn't really focus too much on this story as it was happening (but Reality Winner is the most ridiculous name in the history of names), I just knew it had to do with mishandling of classified documents (which seems to be a big problem among political figures these days....ahem...) and I knew that she received an overly harsh sentence. I think what the film does really well is keeping this well-known story so intense. It's almost harrowing, the way that the agents talk to her in this "everything's going to be okay, we're your friends" kind of way. I think the most obvious mistake is that Reality did not ask for a lawyer IMMEDIATELY. Especially because...she did it?. She admits that she thought it was about a mistake that she made, but once she realizes that it's not what they are after, wouldn't she stop talking and ask for a lawyer? I know it's set up to show the power dynamic and how she felt intimidated by all of these men invading her home and personal space, but she's not dumb so....lawyer up, hun. I do think she was used as an "example" and branded as a traitor, all while others are passing around classified information like it's fucking candy, and that sucks. And it's crazy that the information she shared was then talked about openly just days later with no recourse to anyone else. Sydney Sweeney is an incredible young actress. I'm really excited to watch her career progress. She's probably the best actress on Euphoria (even though her character is annoying) and she's been great in a few other things I've seen her in (The Voyeurs, The White Lotus, the Frankies bikini ads 👀). She does a great job here - giving Winner vulnerability and innocence even within her guilt. Also, that one FBI agent is SO HOT. WHO IS HE?! Was the actual FBI agent that hot because then maybe that's why she was so dumb? Like, if that guy was interrogating me I would not be thinking straight. 

Wednesday, June 21, 2023

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. The Fabelmans -
Unfathomably dull movie, Holy Shit. I'm stunned at how many 5 star reviews there are for this on Letterboxd. It just doesn't make any sense? Spielberg fanboys, sure, but what about everyone else? Like people with eyes and a brain? If anything, this movie makes me like Spielberg a little less. To be clear - I love Spielberg. And he's made some of my favorite movies of all time. I just haven't loved any of his movies in...uh...18 YEARS!? Is that right!? Wow. I did like Ready Player One, but ultimately it's a forgettable movie. But the reason I like him a little less is because this is supposed to be semi-autobiographical and he oddly represents himself as a spoiled, entitled, brat. Sorry, but I'm just never going to sympathize with a white wealthy male who thinks his story is interesting enough to make an entire movie about just because his parents divorced. If that's the worst thing that has happened to you, then your life is not a tragedy that you've had to overcome. There is zero adversity here. Now, watching this future genius filmmaker's beginnings is actually interesting - and if he showed his childhood in a more positive light (that it is), then I probably wouldn't like him less. One could debate me here (easily) by mentioning his mom who is a bit eccentric (and perhaps suffering from some sort of undiagnosed bipolar issue?), but he shows her in a mostly lovingly way - supportive of his passions, showed interest in his life, etc. and he doesn't seem to reciprocate the love at all - he's very selfish, especially when her mother dies and she becomes severely depressed and he gets upset that he can't make his movie? Fuck that, you spoiled fucking brat. So, no, I still don't think that's worthy of sympathy. Or one could mention the bullying he suffered in school due to being Jewish, but honestly those bullies were going to bully him anyway. They just found "the thing" to pick on him for, and went with it. Anyway, as far as the movie goes - as I said, it's very dull. I had to turn it off because I found myself falling asleep. I watched the rest of it the following day, but it felt about 5 hours too long. I also think it's INSANE that Michelle Williams got a Best Actress nomination for this. First, she is most DEFINITELY in a supporting role here and second, she feels like a cartoon character. Obviously, this was the intent, and maybe his mother was really like that, but it didn't feel like it was based in any sort of reality at all. I can't believe people were mad at Andrea Riseborough's nomination, when this nomination is so much more offensive. I don't even think the movie is particularly well made, either. There are very weird scene transitions, the pace is wacky, and there are very few shots of note. There are two nice things that I can say: 1. I really like the scene in which he finds out about his mother's affair - the circular tracking shot of him rewinding the film, with that piano music in the background is spectacular. 2. David Lynch as John Ford = perfection. 

2. To Leslie -
Ahhh finally I can comment on the Andrea Riseborough Oscar nomination situation. First, as I said above, she's not the worst nomination in that category. But, sadly, no, I don't think this should have earned her a nomination. She's a strong actress, and I've been a long time fan. I'm sure she will deserve a nomination soon enough, but there were stronger performances of 2022 (Rebecca Hall, Mia Goth, Margot Robbie, Thuso Mbedo - still not sure if she was lead or supporting, but if Michelle Williams was a lead performance then Mbedo definitely was too). I also think that the film itself is lacking - it's a little too sappy, definitely not gritty or ugly enough for the story that it is attempting. The story is about this poor single mom who wins the lottery, but squanders all of the money on booze - abandoning her son in the process. My first reaction to the lottery part was "190k isn't even that much money", which it definitely isn't in New Jersey, but in Texas - assuming the average cost of living is maybe 40k per year (I'm totally guessing), that's only like 5 years of living just with basic expenses. Not exactly life-changing money. So I kind of knew instantly that she was going to blow it all very quickly. I think the story would have had a stronger impact if the audience witnessed her self-destruction, instead we are introduced to this woman during the after-math, with her trying and failing to seek redemption and forgiveness from her son. Instead, she gains an empathetic ear from a stranger, who attempts to help her by giving her a job and a place to stay. I really appreciate people (and characters) who have soft hearts and try to help people without judgement. He also helps her get sober, although I think he's in a little over his head. Quitting a regular drinking habit is super dangerous - it's why my husband was allowed to keep his stores open during Covid (background: he owns two liquor stores and in the state of NJ liquor is only allowed to be sold at licensed stores, so not grocery stores like most places). The state officials were scared that if they forced the liquor stores to close then the hospitals would be even more flooded with people going into alcohol withdrawal. I do try to have empathy for alcoholics and addicts, even though it's not something I've ever really understood (I have a very "everything in moderation" mentality, and it really baffles me that people don't have the capacity to control themselves this way). Anyway, the story moves very slowly, but Riseborough does keep it interesting and grounded. I also think her Texan accent is on point. The ending is really strong and emotional too, but again, really sappy. It's just not something that will stay with me. 

3. Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania -
Only slightly better than Ant-Man and The Wasp. But, let's talk about the most important part first: Evangeline Lilly's hair. Her haircut in the first one was so awful, but in the God-awful second one it was normal and cute! What the fuck happened here? She looks like Tinkerbell - and I like pixie cuts on a lot of women, but she does not have the face shape for it and she's also extremely petite and this just accentuates that. It's actually hard to look at in some scenes. I know there are more important things to discuss in regards to Lilly, but I'm kind of impartial on all of that (she's an anti-vaxxer, which I do find horrifying - so many diseases have been eradicated because of vaccines!!! But she seemed to really only vocalize an opposition to the mandates for the Covid vaccine, not the actual vaccine. And I do think it's a little crazy that there were mandates for a vaccine that...uh...doesn't seem to work? And they hid side-effects for months? We're all allowed to have opinions on that, and vocalize them. Everyone's allowed to ask questions. That's how things get better! I feel like we're getting stuck in this very black and white way of thinking - and life is very, very grey). But the other weird thing, in regards to Lilly, is that she's still a side character in this, yet her character name is still in the title?? WHY? Does anybody care about The Wasp? Please raise your hand because as far as I know, nobody does. It made sense for the second one because it was about her becoming The Wasp. ANNNYYYWAY, as for the rest of the movie, it basically sucks. I think the only good thing is Michelle Pfeiffer - and SHE has spectacular hair. She looks like a fucking goddess with that grey hair (like, if I could get my grey hair to look like that, I would definitely stop dying it!). I wanted to like Kathryn Newton as Cassie (and the recast makes sense because Newton is a "bigger" up-and-coming young actress), but I felt like her acting was a little cheesy - like she needed to take it all down a few notches. The biggest mistake, though, is NO MICHAEL PENA! An Ant-Man movie without him, just feels so wrong. Also, I watched this movie quite a while ago (I'm behind on my posts again!) - maybe a month ago - and I couldn't tell you what the point of it all was? Kang was in the quantum realm and they defeated him (but they didn't? right? because he's in more?). But that's all I got from it. The effects are mind-boggling. I felt like I needed to be high for them to look decent, but for an unaltered brain, it looks absolutely terrible. Just an overall mess, but a slightly better mess than the second one. 

4. Missing -
I like this movie a lot. I *think* I may even like it more than its spiritual predecessor Searching, which I also really liked. The reason for this, though, is simply because I think "the twist" is slightly more realistic here than the one in Searching. They are both really, really intense movies, with simple but twisty plots, feature great acting, and an interesting use of technology to tell a story. Before I get into spoilery territory, I just want to say that I love Nia Long and she should be in way more stuff (like, she should have the career that Regina Hall has). Also, I like Storm Reid a lot (I knew I recognized her from a few things, A Wrinkle in Time, etc., but completely forgot that she's Zendaya's little sis on Euphoria!). It's very smartly made, does a great job of misdirecting the audience without becoming frustrating, and has a chilling end. Okay...*major spoilers ahead* I think with these types of movies, it's become the norm for the audience to assume it's the husband/boyfriend/partner - because it always is. So, as expected, I spent the majority of the movie going "duh, it's the boyfriend" even when the plot was telling me otherwise. I'm not sure when I realized the "twist", but it was a little bit before June (Reid) does. I started thinking about why her mom would lie to her and hide her past, and the most likely reason for that is because of a crime, but there would be a record of that unless she was on the receiving end and in protective custody. And the most common reason a woman with a child is placed in Witness Protection is because of domestic abuse - and the light when on in my brain "oooooh it IS the husband/boyfriend/partner - just no the one that's in front of us. What a great way to still have that obvious plot point be suspenseful and shocking. I think the only part that I didn't really understand was how it was easier for her to hack into her mom's boyfriends stuff over her mom's? Couldn't she have done the same thing but into her mom's account? And also, it was very obvious that her mom's password was JuneBUG and not just June (my mom's name is June and everyone calls her Junebug. It's so weird). 

5. Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves -
This movie definitely caught me by surprise. I didn't really think I would get it at all - like the Pokémon movie, because I never played it. But it's very accessible to a general audience, and just overall a good time. And it's official: Chris Pine is the best Chris (although Chris Hemsworth is unexpectedly pulling up in second, for me). I wasn't really much of a fan of him earlier in his career, and I didn't like him at all in the Star Trek movies (although I think he played that character how he was supposed to, I just don't like the character). He's just got a really cool, chill attitude about showbiz and seems to not take himself very seriously. The rest of the cast work really well together - even Justice Smith is great in this role and I don't think I've liked him in anything else I've seen him in. I've always been a fan of Michelle Rodriguez and this is a perfect role for her (and LOL at the spectacular cameo for the actor playing her ex). Hugh Grant plays it up as the villain just...perfectly. I think the weak link is the guy from Bridgerton (I'm hopeful that he goes away soon - he got so much attention for Bridgerton which caused him getting all these roles, but everyone has to realize that he can't act. Right? RIGHT????). But, overall, I laughed a lot, it moves very quickly, and has great effects. I will happily watch multiple sequels. 

Monday, June 12, 2023

Thoughts on 5 New TV Shows

1. Citadel - This is a BAD show. Not in the so bad it's good kind of way, either. I'm a big fan of Priyanka Chopra - I even watched that dumb FBI recruitment show, for her, mostly. I didn't realize that she added the "Jonas" part to her name until the credits for this appeared, but also I'm still a bit shocked that this gorgeous as fuck woman married...a Jonas brother. I'm also a fan of Richard Madden simply because he's hot. I was hoping for more from him, acting-wise, after I watched Bodyguard (by the way, what happened to that show? I thought they were going to make more? Was it a victim of Covid?). He's very good in that show - but he's not been good in anything else (I would even say he is the weak link of Rocketman). But, again, he's hot and Priyanka is hot, so I'm gonna watch this. And I'm gonna keep watching it, but I have a feeling it's not going to last longer than maybe another season (if that? I don't think it's received good reviews and it seems expensive to make). The only thing it has going for it are some really strong action-sequences and some well-choreographed fight scenes. The first episode is actually not that bad either - I was a little intrigued with the Alias-esque plot and the cliffhanger (it's also got some humor - "you can't even remember to put the toilet seat down and now you think you're Jason Bourne", I laughed really hard at that). But then it pulls out every cliched plot twist in history and conveniently lays them out into a really convoluted storyline - *some spoilers ahead* - like how the one woman's cover is blown the *exact* moment that the ops team shows up and how he finds out he has a daughter about 2 seconds before finding out that she's been kidnapped. Priyanka is definitely carrying the show too because Madden is really, really awful in this. He's so stiff and lifeless, and his accent goes wildly in and out for no reason at all (In the first and flashback scenes he has his natural accent, and then he does an American accent because he lost his memory??? I think? or is his American accent just that bad that I can't tell the difference?). By the 5th episode, I stopped paying attention to all the twists because it's all really boring and the timeline is starting to get confusing. But I'll still watch hot people doing spy stuff. Always and forever. 

2. Fatal Attraction - I saw the movie once and it was a long, long time ago. I'm going to guess that it was about 25 years ago. I remember being really creeped out by it, and I think I was probably a bit too young for it. I am interested to watch it again as an adult (eventually...). I was interested by the cast for this - Lizzy Caplan and Pacey! I do think that Joshua Jackson has proven himself beyond Pacey, with The Affair, Fringe, and Dr. Death, but he'll still always be Pacey to me. I also like Amanda Peete and I think they make a really good, realistic married couple (although those bangs got to go!). I've watched 4 episodes, and so far, it's ok. Not really something I would recommend to anyone because there are too many brilliant shows on television right now (and within the last few years). But it's sufficiently...ok. I think it would be better if they didn't make Pacey look so much older than 40 (I think it's the hair?). Like, there are so many hot and steamy sex scenes (YES!), but I don't think he's hot so it all seems a bit pointless. I like that they don't just straight copy the movie - they just continue a new story about a "fatal attraction" and they play with the timeline a bit. This allows for the show to grow and also keeps it suspenseful. 

3. The Last Thing He Told Me - I've only seen the first two episodes of this, and so far it's a bit slow, but I like it. I feel like it's a slow-burn story and it's going to have a strong payoff (I might be wrong, though). I love Jennifer Garner so much - she has such a strong screen presence and an instant likeability to her. It would be very interesting to see her in a more villainous role, but I also appreciate when actors find their niche and stick to it (she does "girl next door" and "bad-ass action heroine" roles so perfectly, which is why Sidney Bristow is my favorite female television character OF ALL TIME). She is great in this - her vulnerability shines through this character as she's trying to form a bond with her step-daughter during the worst time of their lives. I also really like Nikolaj Coster-Waldau because... uhhh...he's really hot. I think he's most famous for Game of Thrones, but I remember him well from Headhunters (because, again, HOT). The supporting cast consists (so far) of Angourie Rice (from The Nice Guys - she's building up a nice little resume for herself) and one of my faves, Aisha Tyler. I like the mystery that is building - whether her husband was a part of the fraud and ran, or maybe he found out and threatened to expose it and is now dead or captured? It's definitely intriguing. And also the boat house that they live on is COOL AS FUCK. I WANT IT. 

4. The Watcher - So the only reason that I added this to my list is because my husband told me about it and said that he wanted to watch it. Considering that he never wants to watch anything, this caught me by surprise until he explained that the "watcher house" is in the next town over from us (and where he grew up) and it's one of those unexplained mysteries that caused a lot of gossip and intrigue within the town and surrounding area. He knew all about the history of it so he wanted to see how they put it all together in a series. But then he bailed, so I was stuck watching it by myself (he doesn't stick with many shows unless they are sci-fi or comedies. If it's a drama it has to be a really, really good drama or he's bored). Anyway, the house is about 2 miles away from where I currently live and is apparently a popular spot for the curious (and the interest has peaked again with this series). It's certainly a bit creepy, but I don't really believe in supernatural stuff, so I think it's all sort of dumb. It didn't even happen that long ago - it started in 2014 and I moved here in 2017, so I kind of feel like if the whole thing keeps going it could be a turned into many future supernatural stories (like the Amityville house). I used to love Naomi Watts, and I still do, but she hasn't really done anything strong lately and her peers are just flying past her in terms of strong roles and performances (like Cate Blanchett, Jessica Chastain, etc.). I also had no idea that her and Billy Crudup are together?? They just announced their surprise nuptials, and I was like...uh isn't she married to Liev Schreiber??? Where have I been? Anyway, I also adore Bobby Cannavale. There are definitely things to like about the series - like the cast and the mystery, but overall I can't really say that I enjoyed it. It plays out almost like a season of AHS (which makes sense because it's a Ryan Murphy show), but way less campy and not fun at all. Nothing really happens for the first 4 episodes, then there are few good episodes, then the last few episodes has a million endings. Seriously one million. It twists and turns, back and forth, endlessly. It was you! No it was you! It was both of them! No it was me! It made my brain hurt. I also think it's super weird to do a story about a famous house and not film it in the town it's supposed to be in??? I could tell right away that it wasn't filmed in Westfield - the walk on the ocean boardwalk is a huge giveaway. But it all looked very familiar to me - because it was filmed in Rye, NY (which I lived very close to while I was in college). I will say that I was happy to see Jennifer Coolidge actually act and not just play a version of herself. Like, she's better in this than in The White Lotus, and yet she got an Emmy for that! Make it make sense.  

5. The Diplomat - I really, really like this show. There are some dumb, unnecessary scenes within it (more on that in a second), but overall I think it's really good. I watched the whole thing on my flights to and from my trip to Yellowstone, which is rare for me to binge just one show (I had several downloaded because I expected to want diversity, but this show just dragged me in). First, it's AWESOME that both of my favorite tv actresses are in current shows (Garner and Keri Russell). I would like to think that Sidney Bristow is a little bit of an inspiration for Russell's character in this - just someone caught up in political bullshit who is trying to cut through it and save humanity from nuclear war. Russell plays a very realistic female politician in this - someone who falls into certain clichés of a woman in power, but also consciously plays against them. She's often the smartest person in the room, but still holds back and lets men talk over her - it's infuriating to watch, but also real to life. Her strained marriage is also a focus - and is, again, very realistic. They have clear love and respect for one and other, and have created a really solid partnership within this political atmosphere, but they don't trust each other which is essential for a marriage. I really like all of the supporting characters (all fully-fleshed out and interesting), and how quickly the storyline moves with twists and turns along the way. And I really like that it ends with a gigantic cliffhanger (ballsy move for a Netflix show, considering their history of cancellations - I looked it up, though, and there is a season 2 in the works. *phew*). I think the only criticism I have is that some of the episodes feel bloated and as mentioned above, there are plenty of unnecessary scenes (the whole scene with her husband and the sister is so awful and felt like a little too fantastical for such a grounded show). I think these scenes tend to spell things out instead of letting the audience interpret things (like the scene in which her and Dennison share "a moment" for way too long - I already saw the sexual tension a mile away, don't assume your audience is dumb. And if they are dumb, then maybe this show isn't for them?). Those scenes are far between, though. Overall, it's great.