Friday, March 27, 2026

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. Song Sung Blue - I fully watched this so that I can prove to myself that Jennifer Lawrence deserved that Oscar nomination slot over Kate Hudson (and SURPRISE...I was right! Although I will say that Kate Hudson is very good in this - perhaps the best she's been since Almost Famous). It's not really a film I would watch otherwise because I have no idea who these people are (I actually thought it was about country singers? I guess Neil Diamond can be considered country.). But I have to admit, it's a very interesting story which I was not expecting. If you also have no clue who they are, then there will be spoilers ahead so stop reading! OH MY FUCKING GOD - I was NOT expecting this woman to get run down by a car while gardening in her front lawn?! What the fuck?! That's so awful! I also had NO IDEA that there was ever a cover band that got *this* famous. They are a Neil Diamond tribute band (more like a duo) and they had a modicum of success - including opening for Pearl Jam (Yes, that Pearl Jam! and I looked it up to make sure it was true, and it is! Apparently he was a big fan! How fascinating). I would never have any interest in going to see a live cover band. My mom and her husband go all the time, but I just think it's weird? Anyway, like I stated above - Kate is superb. I probably wouldn't have her in my personal best actress picks, but I do think she earned some of the praise. She also has a very pretty voice. I do think she looks older than her age in this - she's my age but has looked incredible with all the botox and fillers, but I read about how she stopped doing it all so she would look more authentic for the time period. And she succeeded, because she looks OLD! Hugh Jackman with *that* hair is the stuff of nightmares, though. I'm also a little disappointed with Hugh because of his divorce. I honestly thought when they announced their divorce that maybe those rumors were true and he was going to announce that he's gay, but instead he was just cheating on his wife with his Broadway co-star and that sucks. They were one of those long-standing Hollywood marriages that are so rare (almost 30 years!), and now he's just another Hollywood cliche. As for the actual movie, it's fine. I was entertained. I think it's obviously too long (2 hours is unnecessary for this story!). There are cute scenes (like the Pearl Jam scene with her kids suddenly being IN on their success). But it doesn't really hit any memorable notes until the accident and then it's kind of obvious how the rest of the story is going to go. I think it's weird that they changed his cause of death though? 

2. Ash - I know this was a low-budget sci-fi and therefore probably not very good, but it was worse than I imagined. There's some fun ideas, sure, and some good gore, but it looks *terrible*. It also feels like they were writing it as they were filming it and they had no idea how the story was going to actually work. There's a better cast than this movie deserves too - like how the fuck did they get Eiza Gonzales and Aaron Paul to star in this?? I don't know who Flying Lotus is, but I guess he has some clout in the industry? Anyway, I guess if you like low-budget sci-fi, I would recommend this because there are some things about it I enjoyed. I just wish it had a stronger plot, looked better, and the characters were developed and interesting. As a film, it's just bad. 


3. The Secret Agent - Ummmmm....I don't know. I was kind of bored by this, which I wasn't expecting. It starts off strong, but then I had to force myself to pay attention to it and it barely had my attention by the end of its (very long) runtime. I watched this and Hamnet back-to-back and that might have been a mistake (with Hamnet being first, so I was definitely in a bored state of mind). First, I like Wagner Moura a lot - I've been a fan since Narcos. He's a movie star and can definitely carry a film. He's also very hot - and I'm not usually one for the tall, dark & handsome type. I hope the attention he got from this leads to bigger roles for him. Second, There is absolutely no reason for this film to be 2 hours and 40 minutes long. It's not some big epic drama - it's a small drama driven by characters. And there are way too many characters (look at that poster!). There's just so much nonsense that could have been cut and wouldn't effect the film at all. It's just overly complicated for no reason. And last, I think they got the aesthetic down (especially the 70s style end credits! So good!). It looks really good. There's some interesting, memorable moments - like the cat with the TWO FACES?! What the fuck?! I love him! Oh and Udo Kier is in this?! I'm surprised that wasn't mentioned more considering he died recently and this was his last movie role. I think my expectations for this were just too high - I mean, it's a BEST PICTURE NOMINEE??? It wouldn't even be in my top 20 of last year. 

4. War Machine - I thought this was fun! It's not great or anything, but Alan Ritchson is such a star and there's some great action scenes. Actually, if I'm honest, my whole enjoyment of this is probably *just* because of Ritchson. I have a bit of a crush on him. I think he's so good in Reacher, but I became a big fan after both The Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare and Playdate (which is a dumb movie but he is so hilarious in it! It's so funny that my husband and I actually quote stuff from it to make each other laugh). I've been following the whole drama with his neighbor that just happened and I think it's HILARIOUS that anyone would pick a fight with someone who is 6'3" and 230 lbs of muscle. Ritchson could have literally killed him - that guy is so lucky that he showed restraint. I don't believe in physical violence, but sometimes the saying "fuck around and find out" exists for a reason. Anyway, I've drifted from the topic, as per usual. I like that this movie gives a lot of backstory before all this action starts, but it also feels like it moves very quickly. And I like that it's different. If you don't watch the trailer or look up what it's about - the plot turns a bit unexpected (*spoilers* it basically becomes a Transformers movie). Other than that, though, it's not great. The supporting cast is SUPER weak. They are supposed to be an elite team of the Army Rangers (aka the best of the best) and they got Kid Flash and a bunch of other very small looking men (oh and one woman who is supposed to be tough but shaving her head does not make her look tough). I just don't buy it. I also think some of the effects are wonky. Overall, though, it's a fun time - and sometimes that's enough. I also like that they incorporate a very serious topic of PTSD in veterans, but it doesn't bog down the story. 

5. Hamnet - I liked the book by Maggie O'Farrell. I only read it because her book "I Am, I Am, I Am" is on of my favorite books of all time so when I saw she wrote a book about Shakespeare, I thought it would be something I would enjoy. I was a Drama Studies major so you can just imagine how many times I've read Hamlet and other Shakespeare plays. I also took a class on Shakespeare on Film, Women in Shakespeare, etc. It was literally all Shakespeare, all the time. So, yeah, this is definitely up my alley. I liked the book (didn't love it), but i think the movie is...okay. I didn't really find anything engaging about it, which is surprising. I love Jessie Buckley and Paul Mescal but I didn't love either of their performances, which I find so strange because Buckley's Wild Rose performance is incredible and Mescal is in one of my favorite films of the last decade and he's incredible in it (Aftersun). I just think they kind of short change Mescal's role and Buckley cries a lot (as someone I follow on Bluesky said "she's getting an Oscar for the most acting, not necessarily the best acting" and I agree with that). I think those Jupe boys are super talented too. But none of this moved me. I know several people who cried during this, but it just didn't hit me (but if I think about the last shot in Aftersun, a tear will surely form - so I'm not dead inside. I promise.). I also think I just don't connect to Chloe Zhao films (Nomadland was ok - 3 stars, and Eternals was bad). I do like that this film shows Shakespeare being in love with this witchy, wild woman and he believes her and trusts the things she says and feels as truth while others doubted her. The older I get the more I realize *just* how powerful a woman's intuition is. I also think the ending is really good but it just last for FOREVER. It's a film that I'll never think about again. 

Friday, March 20, 2026

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. The Smashing Machine -
I like The Rock, but I like him in family adventure movies, not dramas. But, I'll give him a shot - I know the reviews were mostly good and originally there was some mild awards talk. I'm also going to guess that this movie will be exactly what I'm expecting - a wrestler who gets hurt or has some sort of trauma has to fight his way back to the top or whatever. And, I've seen that movie a million times already. I don't know who Mark Kerr is, but I assumed I already knew his story and...dun dun dun...I was right! I have no idea why there is a movie made about this guy. I thought it was about to get interesting when they were hinting that he was going to have to fight his friend (I always think that's an interesting angle - like when football/baseball players get traded to different teams and then have to play against their friends/former teammates. It's weird!), but then that didn't happen so what the Hell is the point of this movie?? I did like some stuff - Emily Blunt is always good and I love how hot she looks with this whole 90s aesthetic. There's a great soundtrack with Elvis' version of My Way, and some Bruce songs. The Rock is...fine, I guess. I think the prosthetics hinder his facial expression (although, he's The Rock, so I'm not sure he would have any facial expression...but still!). 

2. Eternity -
So, my husband saw the ads for this and declared it the dumbest plot for a movie in history, but when he described it to me, I was like "wait...that actually sounds like a good plot for a movie!" Haha! We are very different in our media consumption (actually that's not true because I'll watch pretty much anything - except maybe documentaries, which I still watch some highly rated ones, but I just don't love the genre. He's just *so* picky with what he will watch though, and romantic drama is never going to be an option). BUT IT IS A GOOD PLOT! Basically this woman dies and she has to decide if she wants to spend "eternity" with her first love (who died very young and has been waiting for her on the "other side") or her husband of 65 years (who she has already spent a life with and has a family with.). I think the answer is clear, but I can see the hesitation and it's interesting to explore these options. I wish it had a different cast because choosing between Miles Teller and Callum Turner is a choice (and not a good one - I don't find either one of those men attractive. And God Help Me if Turner is chosen as the next Bond. What.The.Fuck.). And Elizabeth Olsen is so much hotter than both of them! The concept of "eternity" is interesting too - they have to pick a place/activity and that's what they'll do for eternity. I think I would pick a beach setting too (as you can see in the film it is the popular choice, but not as popular as "Man Free World" which is at capacity. HAHA!!), but I would get bored of the sun and the sand EVERY SINGLE DAY for ETERNITY?? No thanks?! There's nothing in the world that I would want to do for ETERNITY. Anyway, I thought this was cute and it reminded me of 90s movies I used to love like Heart and Souls and Ghost

3. Blue Moon -
This is...BORING. Some good stuff, but mostly BORING. I hadn't heard much about this until Ethan Hawke started getting award buzz. Linklater doesn't always work for me though. I do think Hawke is great, probably not award-worthy, but I love him and this is first nomination for a lead actor. I swear to God if Timmy won over these other phenomenal actors, I would have SCREAMED. I don't hate him, he's fine. I actually appreciate his gumption and determination, but to be nominated for THREE Oscars already in his career is insanity. But, anyway, I just didn't love this. I didn't even realize that it was about the writer of the song "Blue Moon"...LOL. It basically gives the audience a backstory between the breakup of him and his writing partner Richard Rogers (who eventually became better known with his new partner - Rogers & Hammerstein). It's him struggling with his ex-partner's success - the jealousy, anger, pettiness of it all. I think I would have actually enjoyed it as a stage production, I just found it dull as a cinematic endeavor. But I like the cast - Bobby Cannavale! Margaret Qualley! Andrew Scott! Love them all, and they are all given moments to shine. I found it weird that they made Qualley SO tall. She's 2 inches shorter than him in real life, but somehow towers over him. It doesn't look natural at all. And you can see where they shaved his head to make it look like a receding hairline! Did no-one on set notice the 5 o'clock shadow on his head?? 

4. The Astronaut -
I think this had the potential behind it to be a good movie, but unfortunately, it's not. I didn't hate it, but I just think it could have been a lot better. Especially with my favorite Mara sister - Kate. It was originally supposed to star Emma Roberts, so Kate Mara is what I would call a GLOW UP! I like the sci-fi horror, paranoia thriller vibe, and it's definitely engaging. I also appreciate that the ending is BATSHIT CRAZY. I respect it! Like, if you're going to go there, then fully commit - and they did indeed. But the rest of the movie is filled with convenient plotlines and foreshadowing, and mostly this brilliant astronaut being incredibly dumb (lock your doors and stay inside, crazy lady!). There are just some very bad scenes that make no logical sense. And why is her daughter dressed like she works at Anthropologie? And the backwards hat? It's like someone who knows nothing about children was the costume designer on this. Even my husband (who knows nothing about children) was like, "why is the kid wearing that? Who dressed her??" - that's how weird it is. Anyway, I don't have much else to say - even though I found it average, I would still recommend it to anyone who appreciates sci-fi horror films. There's a good story and a decent cast. 

5. Rental Family -
This is a good movie, but I probably would have loved it if it didn't star Brendan Frasier. I'm sorry, he seems like a very nice, authentic, thoughtful person, but he's a terrible actor and he always has been! This resurgence is WILD. An OSCAR?! Get the fuck out of here. But, he did learn Japanese for this, so I respect that. And he's not terrible or anything, I just know I would have liked this film better with an actor who...can...act. I think it's a really interesting plot about a cultural idea that feels very different but also might be part of our future (in America) but with AI instead of people (scary thought!). It's about this American actor in Japan who is having trouble booking jobs, so he becomes a paid companion. But not *just* a companion. He's basically paid to act out scenarios for people as a coping mechanism. It's interesting that Japan is so shut-off to therapy and mental health programs so people pay other people to help them heal in a different way. I can't say that I fully understand why anyone would do this, but it's an interesting concept. I just think you need to exist in reality - and that includes pain, heartbreak, loneliness, etc. It's all part of being human. Role playing your life away is SO weird to me, but whatever floats your boat. The movie is cute, though. And heartwarming. Nothing I'll remember a year from now, but I enjoyed it. It definitely could have been a 90 minute movie (and would have probably been a 4 star movie if they tightened it up). Also, I laughed really hard at the toothpaste commercial - it reminded me of Joey from Friends Japanese commercial for Ichiban. Haha!

Monday, March 16, 2026

3 Thoughts on the Oscars

1. The Show - Overall, I think it was kind of a dull show, but I think that matched the year in film that 2025 was. I know A LOT of people discuss the year as being a "great year for film" with a One Battle After Another vs. Sinners showdown, but I just wasn't super thrilled about any movie - my favorite was Bugonia and yes, both Sinners and OBAA were in my Top 10, but none of the other nominated films were (Hamnet? Train Dreams? Snooze. The Secret Agent? Super disappointing. Frankenstein? Beautiful, sure, but a good movie? I guess?). I liked Conan's monologue last year, but this year, I found it very blah and tame. I think his little speech about optimism was the best part and very earnest which is not something I expect from Conan. I also enjoyed the Casablanca for the new audience bit with Sterling K. Brown because that is exactly how movies are nowadays and it's so grating. The presenters were mostly GOD AWFUL. The RDJ and Chris Evans bit?? Horrific. It's hard to believe that those two are leading men with that banter. Even the Bridesmaids bit was just...sad. I think it's shitty that they only had two of the nominated songs perform live?? Either do them all or don't do them at all. I rooted for the KPop song because it's such a good, catchy pop song, but man, that Sinners performance really blew me away. But the thing is - it's the ambiance and cultural significance of the scene that make the song good. Not the song itself. I loved seeing them try to recreate that magical scene into a live performance and I think they did a good job. And I do think it's hilarious that it ended with Misty Copeland showing her iconic ballet skills (nobody really thinks she came out of retirement to *just* troll Timothee Chalamet (Chamalet?)), but it's sure fucking funny. The In Memoriam was really beautifully done with longer tributes for Rob & Michele Reiner, Diane Keaton, and Robert Redford, but the amount of people they left out is INSANE (and I don't buy that they are "tv stars" - Van Der Beek was in plenty of films and he had one of the most iconic lines in teen movie history "I don't want your life" is a line that is quoted by every person my age). 

2. The Winners - AMY MADIGAN!! There were very few performances that stuck out to me from last year (my faves: Emma Stone and Jesse Plemons (Bugonia), Jennifer Lawrence (Die My Love), Florence Pugh (Thunderbolts*), Jack O'Connell (Sinners - stole the whole fucking thing!) AND AMY MADIGAN!). It's so rare for someone to create a character that becomes INSTANTLY iconic but Madigan did that with Aunt Gladys and it's about damn time the Academy recognizes horror (they have before - Misery, Silence of the Lambs from the top of my head, but it's rare). I didn't love Hamnet, but I do love Jessie Buckley so I'll just pretend this win is for Wild Rose. I was rooting for Rose Byrne, or Emma (who was even more unlikely). I figured Michael B. Jordan would win - I think he was the weakest link in Sinners (I know, I know my opinions are WILD!). I do love him though, so it's fine. I also figured Sean Penn would win even though he was in a different film than the rest of his cast. But Hollywood loves Sean Penn so he'll keep getting awards until he dies. One Battle After Another is one of PTA's least interesting films so it's crazy that this is what finally wins him multiple Oscars. Overall, I'm not mad about any of the wins, but I'm not exactly thrilled. It's cool that a woman won for Cinematography (and it's even cooler that Coogler hires female cinematographers! He seems like a great dude). 

3. The Fashion - I'm actually pleasantly surprised by the dresses this year! Barely anyone looked like a bride (except one of my favorite girlies, Elle Fanning. I'm *so* disappointed), and there were some riskier numbers walking the carpet (it's been a while! Everyone has been playing it so safe lately!). I think my favorite look is Anne Hathaway - I would have ditched the gloves, but it did add to the glamour. I also think Rose Byrne looked gorgeous in a very similar dress. I loved Renate Reinsve's dress (I know some commented that it was just a piece of fabric - but that color looked spectacular and she worked that piece of fabric so well. It's simple and modern. And risky!). Also, Gwyneth in that naked from the side look?? LOVE it. And speaking of Gwyneth, I think Mckenna Grace's dress was a definite homage to Gwyneth's Oscar winning pink dress. Chase Infiniti in that lilac dress looked gorgeous. I didn't see any red carpet pics of Zendaya, but she obviously knocked it out of the park like usual. And I loved the daffodil (or whatever that was) detail on Pedro Pascal's shirt. I love when men do something fun instead of just wearing a suit. As far as my worst looks - eeek for whatever Alicia Silverstone was wearing. So unflattering. Demi Moore looked like she literally killed a few dozen birds and glued their feathers to her body. I don't know which Jenner Timmy is dating, but whichever one she is - that dress with the literal key hole is so fucking tacky. *cringes*. 

Sunday, March 15, 2026

Thoughts on 5 New TV Shows

1. Pluribus - Loved it! It's basically Invasion of the Body Snatchers, but told in a new way. I waited to watch it until I could binge it because I had a feeling that I would want to, and I was right. I watched the whole thing in a week. I asked my husband if he wanted to watch it with me - I didn't know much about it so I just described it as a "show from the creator of Breaking Bad". He's never seen Breaking Bad (*Extreme Monica voice* I KNOW!!), so he declined. I started the first episode while he was in the room but working on a project, and about 1/2 way through, he stopped working on his project and was like "okay...I'm hooked, I'm watching this with you". He's more into the sci-fi aspect, and consistently commented about how boring all of the details are, but that's the part that I love. And it reminds me of Breaking Bad because that's what makes that show so good. He doesn't realize that the details are what's keeping him interested. When the character of Manousos is introduced and it's hinted that he's going to travel to New Mexico, my husband literally guffawed and was like "that's impossible! He'd have to cross the Darien Gap!" And I was like "it's a tv show, calm down" but then THEY SHOW HOW IMPOSSIBLE IT IS TO CROSS THE DARIEN GAP because that's just how Vince Gilligan's brain works - he does his research! Anyway, I like the story of this woman basically being alone on Earth and wanting to return it to normal, while the other "survivors" are complacent (some want to join the rest of their family in the hive mind, while others see it as a benefit). I think another detail I like is that out of the 13 "survivors" only 1 of them is a white American. White Americans absolutely believe they are the center of the world, but population-wise we are a minority. If 13 people survived out of the entire planet - most would be of Asian descent and culturally very different than us. I also feel like it feels realistic, I mean, obviously far-fetched, but this woman feels real and very much relatable. The part when she's singing "It's Getting Hot in Here" while in a hot spring and then she goes to the Georgia O'Keefe museum and takes a painting - that would be me. I just think it's really well done and I looked forward to each episode. Can't wait for season 2! 

2. The Copenhagen Test - This is a show that seems like it's up my alley - I love spy stuff! But, so far, I'm mostly confused. I'm 1/2 way through it, and I find myself not even paying attention and it's definitely a show that you need to pay attention to. But, it's just not interesting enough to actually pay attention to. I'm considering dropping it from my watch list, but, as you may know, that's always hard for me to do. The episodes are waaaaayyy too long, which is part of the problem. They feel like they are two hours long. I, for sure, thought I was almost through episode 4 and I still had 35 minutes left. LOL. Kill me! I do like this cast though - I'm rooting HARD for Melissa Barrera. Aside from the fact that she's really talented, I think she's been really mistreated by Hollywood. Simu Lui usually has charisma galore (but it's sadly lacking in this!). I don't know if I've seen Sinclair Daniel before, but she is ADORABLE. I'm hoping Adina Porter has a bigger role in the latter episodes because, so far, she's being under-utilized. There are a few intense scenes - like the bookstore scene (first of all, hilarious that they pick the book The Alchemist because I hated that book! LOL), but also, I was like..."wait...what the fuck is going on?". I think it would work better if we got to know the characters first before jumping right into this whole double-double agent thing. We only know this guy from one "past" scene in which they keep reinforcing that he's a "good guy", but we literally know nothing else about him - so I don't care what happens to him. I'll eventually finish the rest of the season, but if it doesn't pick up the pace and provide some clarity, I won't be watching a season 2 (if there even is a season 2, which is doubtful - I've never seen anyone talk about this show at all). 

3. PONIES - Another show that seems like it's *extremely my shit* - spy stuff set during the cold war! I do like this, so far, but I think the casting is a bit off. I've never been the biggest fan of Emilia Clarke (as an actress. She seems like a lovely person!). Surprisingly, I'm actually more impressed with her than with Haley Lu Richardson (and she's someone I usually like!). Clarke had to learn Russian for this - and she sounds very convincing and she looks like she belongs in this world. While Richardson seems a little too silly - like she's straight out of Gen Z (I think she might be older than that, but she's got the Gen Z look!). I think her character is supposed to be the comic relief (?) but she comes off as childish and obnoxious. But I like the look of it, and the music is great. And I'm fully invested in Clarke's character's plotline with going undercover by dating a dangerous KGB officer. I'm on the 5th episode (I think), and it has its ups and downs, but overall, I'm into it. I think it could be something great if they just figure out what to do with Richardson. I'm also interested in the deaths of their husbands - which I think will be a bigger plot point at some point. I could see this lasting several seasons, but I do think they need to kick the danger up a degree and be more like The Americans and less like a buddy comedy. 

4. I Love LA - Ummmm...this could be amazing or it could be like a Gen Z/Influencer version of Girls or Sex and the City (I hated Girls! Couldn't get past the first season! And I hated SatC, and yes, I watched the whole thing, unfortunately). But it's created by Rachel Sennott and I really like her even though she reminds me of someone I hate in real life (and I don't hate many people in real like - there's like 3 people total), but she also reminds me of another actress that I can't put my finger on (maybe Brittany Murphy?). I like the supporting cast too - Odessa A'Zion (aka Pamela Adlon's daughter) is really taking off, Josh Hutcherson is ADORABLE in this (I LOVE that her boyfriend is a like a normal nerdy guy who treats her well), and I would love for Leighton Meester to get another successful show (her movies were...not great. She's not a movie star and that's okay! But she's a tv queen when she finds the right roles!). I think I have two episodes left, but so far, so good! I am mostly enjoying it - there are definitely highlights, like the Elijah Wood cameo had me DYING (when they walk in on him watching The Simpsons and then he puts on the Smash Mouth song from Shrek. LOL. HILARIOUS!). There are definitely some lowlights - Ayo's cameo is pure torture. That accent. Rough. I was actually really enjoying the series up until the last episode I watched where things took a few left turns - they introduce a really interesting "bro" character who is actually a really supportive friend -he's also a religious nut, but I think that could have been an interesting character to explore. "I'm not gay, I'm Catholic!" LOL.  And then KILL HIM OFF very suddenly. And I hate that Maia suddenly questions her relationship because her boss makes a dumb comment about him not being good enough. He's actually TOO GOOD for her. And then she suddenly turns into a jealous lying biATCH towards him. I hope they don't keep going down that road because I'll probably stop watching. It is a lot of influencer drama/ tik-tok generation stupidity, but there's something oddly entertaining about it - it has an Entourage vibe that I enjoy. 

5. Wonder Man - This is cute! I knew nothing about the character, so it was a bit unexpected. I like that it's really just a story of someone who wants to be an actor, but is forced into the role of a super hero (or villain? I'm not sure how his story proceeds). I always thought the whole Mandarin thing in Iron Man was a bit dumb, but I liked how they really turned this character around and formed a really interesting character. Also, I love Yahya. He's SO good in this. It's also really funny - like how he gets fired from American Horror Story and Ben Kingsley's "gotta go, Uncle Vanya" made me spit my drink out. Josh Gad's episode is HILARIOUS and definitely a standout of the series. And I love how they show how the whole "superheroes can't be actors" thing started (basically because they are uninsurable). But my favorite part is the nod to The O.C. - with Yahya looking out the window and then you hear the first notes of "California" play - I WAS SCREAMING. The reference will go over a lot of people's heads, but that scene was MADE FOR DORKS LIKE ME!! Anyway, I can't wait to see more of this character in the MCU! They are slowly reeling me back in!

Tuesday, March 10, 2026

Movie Marathon: Bourne

1. The Bourne Identity - The Bourne Trilogy is among my favorite franchises - and I just pretended that the other two don't exist, but I decided it's time to watch them all collectively. And you know what? They're all good movies! It was a pleasant surprise, honestly. I've definitely watched the first three multiple times, but it's been a while (maybe 15 years?). Also, I could not find these movies streaming anywhere so I had to resort to my trilogy boxset (and unfortunately had to rent the last two). But there was something so comforting watching this on physical media. I think this first film really excels at creating this tense plot of this guy waking up on a fishing boat having no recollection of who he is, but slowly realizing that he's part of something sinister. It moves really quickly, there's an iconic car chase scene that is a nod to The Italian Job (and maybe does it even better) with this old school mini-cooper through the streets of Paris. It's SO good. Plus, there's a bit of romance with the relationship that forms between him and Marie. But, for me, I was never the biggest fan of Marie - I found her grating and annoying. And I never really understood how they fell in love (I get a sexual chemistry because of their adrenaline being out of control by these life-or-death situations, but like...love? I don't see it.). Anyway, I really enjoyed this rewatch, but I thought it was way more action-packed than it actually is? Weird. Also, I did not remember that Walton Goggins is in this! 

2. The Bourne Supremacy - This is definitely my favorite one. I think both the first & second films are 4 star films, I just prefer this one because I really like Joan Allen's character and I think the action and fight sequences are even better (Greengrass really understood the assignment, as the kid's say). I know killing off Marie so quickly upset a lot of people, but I think it gives a solid motivation for this story to continue because otherwise Bourne would have never returned - he would just be living his life on the beach somewhere. AND Karl Urban is in this looking REAL GOOD and rocking an incredibly convincing Russian accent?! Lord have mercy! Also, I vividly remember watching the phone call scene in which he states "she's standing right next to you" and they all freeze because they realize he's watching them. It's such a good scene and they continue this throughout the rest of the franchise with the "you look tired" line. I think this one does the best job of balancing all the character moments, the action & fight scenes, along with the keeping the thrills and suspense peaked for its entirety. On a side note - this is the first time I realized that the Moby song is played during all 5 of the Bourne movies. I knew it was featured heavily within the franchise, but didn't realize it plays during the end of all of them. 

3. The Bourne Ultimatum - I enjoyed this one quite a lot, but I also think it has a few flaws. While the first three films all have a runtime under 2 hours (YES!!), this one feels longer, and there are quite a few scenes that drag or are not necessary at all. Like the first scene? It can totally be cut - just start at the 6 weeks later part. And the chase scenes go on for FOREVER. Especially the whole scene featuring the journalist (played by Paddy Considine! I never realized he was in these!) at Waterloo station. The scene is actually great and SO intense, but it feels like it takes up half the movie! The plot hasn't really even started yet! And because they drag out these scenes, they seem to forget the character moments and development that made the first two films so great. It just feels like the plot is paper thin and they really stretched it out to make a film out of it. But, I do like it - the NYC scene is cool. The surveillance technology seems so dated now, but I remember being really terrified by it when this was released - it seemed so futuristic and crazy to think that anyone can be found and tracked so easily. Nicky gets more and more important with every movie (and we all know what that means!). Overall, I still think this is a great action movie and a solid end to the story (but, of course, there's more!). 

4. The Bourne Legacy - So I remember thinking this was fine - I originally rated it 3 stars. And I think my original assessment is correct (a quote from my original blog post about it: "as an action movie, I would rate it above average, but as a Bourne film, I wouldn't rate it all"). There's a lot of good stuff here - but it feels pointless in the Bourne world. It takes place during the events of Ultimatum as a parallel story of the consequences of Jason Bourne's actions and how it effects other CIA black ops programs and other "super soldiers", which could be a really interesting take. But it all boils down to Jeremy Renner wanting his "Chems" (which is medicine necessary for him to function). I was shocked by the cast, because I don't remember any of these people in this - Rachel Weisz??? Edward Norton??! Oscar Isaac?! Hello?! Why don't I remember them?? LOL. Weisz has the best scenes (the mass shooting scene and the scene in her home when she's being interrogated). I was bothered that her hairstyle kept changing in between scenes (continuity!!! It's important!), but that's not her fault. It's a good idea, a great cast, and has some really intense scenes. I can't really pinpoint why it's not as good as the trilogy but it's just...not. Damon is essential. Ditto for Paul Greengrass (although with this rewatch, I remembered that he didn't actually direct the first one! It was Doug Liman, which makes sense - they have a similar frantic style for these crazy action sequences). 

5. Jason Bourne - This one I didn't like on original viewing, but I've come around a bit with this rewatch. I think it's a disappointing Bourne movie, but it's not necessarily a bad movie. It's another 3 star movie. And it features one of the best car chase sequences of, not only the franchise, but of all-time, with the Las Vegas Strip chase. I remember reading about how it was done and that it was the first time that they've shut down the strip completely, but it was worth it because it's SO GOOD. Watching that SWAT vehicle just completely destroy every car in its path is absolutely glorious. I like that they did something unexpected with these huge vehicles because the cars used are usually small like a mini cooper or a motorcycle or a beat up taxi. But, otherwise, the film is a bit of a letdown. When I first saw this, it was in a theater and it was the first movie my husband and I watched together - we were PUMPED. We both love the franchise and the original three films and thought for sure that this was going to be great. And then it wasn't. I think they should have given Bourne something new to focus on. Instead, he's still just trying to figure out who he is and it feels like a rehash of everything we've already learned and the new info given is unnecessary. I don't think they needed to kill off Nicky, either, but man, Julia Styles got worse and worse with every movie. I also think Alicia Vikander is horrible in this - just no personality whatsoever! There seems to be a shocking actor in each one of these films that I have no recollection of and this one is Riz Ahmed!! This might have been the first thing I've seen him in. I love him. AND how hot is Matt Damon in this?! This was his peak hotness, I think. 


Ranking:
Supremacy 
Identity 
Ultimatum 
Jason Bourne 
Legacy

Saturday, March 7, 2026

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. Black Phone 2 -
I really liked the first one, which is surprising because I don't usually take to supernatural horror stuff. But, it felt really grounded in reality and I thought Mason Thames was fantastic. Unfortunately, I haven't liked him in anything else since then - including this sequel. So, I guess his performance was a fluke. I didn't love this movie either. About an hour in, I realized I wasn't really following the plot. They are trapped at a children's camp during a snow storm - he starts getting the calls and his sister starts having the dreams, but there's nothing much else to it. They realize that it all started there and that their mother was involved. But I didn't really need the lore - sometimes it's better not knowing stuff! The whole sequel just feels like a cash grab, and there's nothing scary or creepy at all. I don't really have anything else to say. I do think it's interesting that some people pointed out The Grabber's mask looks like Epstein! I never noticed it, but it's true. I think Derrickson said it was unintentional, but it's funny nonetheless! Anyway, this was sort of meh. *shrugs shoulders* 

2. Code 3 -
Okay, so I sort of have mixed feelings about this movie. I think there are certain expectations for an action/comedy starring known funny men like Rainn Wilson, Lil Rel Howery, and Rob Riggle. And those expectations are for a COMEDY. Even if it's a dumb, cheesy comedy. This is NONE of those things - while it can be considered a dark comedy, it's mostly an existential drama. And, unfortunately, it was not what I was in the mood to watch so I think it clouded my judgement of it. The story is about this burned out paramedic who is training a new paramedic on the daily horrors of being a paramedic. It's DARK - I mean, people die horrible, tragic deaths and the dialogue is basically like "everyone dies and life is miserable". There are some funny moments, sure, like the scene with the subway scenario when he calls him racist (it genuinely looked like Rainn was laughing in the scene). But overall, this is not a funny movie. I also think they oversell the under-appreciated paramedic trope. Paramedics make WAY more than 43k a year, especially in California (the low end is still 80k. Yes, I looked it up because it seemed ridiculously low and not realistic). And I think a lot of people appreciate Paramedics! They are every day heroes! But, I think it dives deep into the psychological trauma of experiencing other peoples tragedies every single day and sometimes not even knowing the outcome. I like a lot about this movie - the breaking the 4th wall way that Rainn talks to the audience gives it a little edge. I definitely recommend this movie - just not if you are in the mood to watch a dumb comedy. 

3. Predator: Badlands -
So, I might have accidentally prematurely deleted my notes for this or maybe I didn't take any? Not sure, but I do know that I liked this quite a bit. I appreciate a new direction in this long-running franchise because it actually feels fresh. I really liked Prey as well because it also goes in a different direction. I think that's the only way to move forward with a franchise, and some people (mostly nerdy white boys) will have something negative to say about that, but I think we need to stop giving that type of negativity any attention at all. Genuine criticism is always welcomed and necessary (both good and bad), but to just hate on something because it wasn't made for you specifically is just a waste of energy. Anyway, the absolute highlight is the ever adorable Elle Fanning. I just ADORE her. I had avoided all trailers and spoilers for this so I was SHOCKED by her character reveal. And that she does double-duty by playing twins. She's fantastic. I like that we get to know this new predator, Dek, and that he has deep daddy issues that sets off the plot of the film. I think it's interesting to get to know the "enemy" because we're all just trying to survive. There are some cool shots, and overall, I think it was fun! 

4. Ella McCay -
Wow. I read some of the negativity, but I think a lot of it was about the stupid looking poster (which I still don't understand the hoopla), so I was expecting something a bit cheesy and maybe a little too endearing etc., I was not expecting something this awful. Like ONE STAR awful. With a cast like this, that's just unacceptable! Directed by James L. Brooks?? Why is it so bad? I think a lot of it just comes down to it being a bad script. There's no cohesive story here - it's about this woman who is about to be the governor, but all the men around her are terrible. Her dad is a womanizer (and apparently seduced her friend? It was a throwaway line, but I was like "WHAT?" Can we get some clarity on that?), her brother is a shut-in, and her husband - who is a nice guy up until he *very* suddenly is not - takes advantage of her political position. I think the story is supposed to be about this woman navigating all of this, but it's just all over the place. One scene she's dealing with a blackmail situation and the next scene her dad is confronting her at a bar. It's so weird. And then there is a scene that's like 30 minutes long of her brother trying to ask out a girl. Why is this scene even in the movie? It has nothing to do with the main character, and we don't get to know the brother enough to care about him. And why does her husband suddenly become such an asshole? There was no catalyst for that happening. The cast is mostly great - Emma Mackey will recover from this, hopefully. Jack Lowden (*heart eyes*), Rebecca Hall (who is barely in it), Ayo Edebiri (Good Lord, this woman needs help picking movie roles), Woody Harrelson, and Marge Simpson! (She mostly narrates, but I was like WAIT...is that Marge Simpson's voice?! And YUP!). But, I really have a hard time with Jamie Lee Curtis now. I can't pinpoint when it happened, but I used to really love her and now I really think she's one of the worst actresses currently working - she's so over-the-top. Ugh...I cringe just thinking about it. Believe the bad reviews with this one. 

5. Splitsville -
I thought I was going to like this by some of the reviews, and because I love Dakota Johnson and Adria Arjona. But, unfortunately, I thought it was really dumb and bland. And I think it's meant to be "edgy" with this whole open relationship thing, but it's just blah. Like, there's nothing edgy about this at all. And, I'm sorry, but there is no way in the world that these two men can get women like Dakota and Adria. My brain was instantly like, why the fuck would these two hot women be with these old boring-looking men, but I looked it up and apparently these men are YOUNGER THAN ME?! I thought, for sure, they were in their 50s. But also, I realized they wrote the film, and one of them directed it, so OF COURSE they are going to hire women who are too hot for them (LOL. I would do the same! If I wrote & directed a film that I was also going to star in, I would totally hire Taron Egerton to be my husband.). Anyway, I wanted a bit more - either make it funnier, more romantic, or even wackier, but it's just all sort of boring. It's just a deeply uninteresting story about two mediocre rich white men - and I'm so over it. The women barely have a story - just used for sex plots. Adria gets a montage of dating a bunch of men (either to show the time that has past or that she's a slut - I'm honestly not sure which...). And then all of these men hang out with each other??? What? It doesn't even make any sense or have any sense of realism. I just really hated the whole thing and rolled my eyes A LOT. 

Sunday, February 22, 2026

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. If I Had Legs I'd Kick You -
I liked this, but I was also slightly disappointed with it. I think Rose Byrne is excellent (I expected nothing less! I love her so much and will be perfectly happy if she wins the Oscar). But I hate the way this is filmed with the extreme close-ups and the shaky camera movement. I think it distracts from the story being told, which is about a mother who is overwhelmed by taking care of her sick child on top of extraordinary life struggles (her ceiling caves in, one of her therapy clients disappears, her boss is a dick, her husband is working out of town). I think it does a good job at showing *just* how much women have to deal with and how unsupportive a lot of men are because they are the financial support (i.e working), but also how unsupportive society is towards women. I will never know how difficult motherhood is, but I see a lot of women struggle - and most of the struggle is warranted because they just have too much on their plate. And I also see why a lot of younger women are opting out of becoming moms. I know there is this whole "panic" about how people aren't having children, but nothing in the world right now is inviting humans to procreate - things are too expensive, women are expected to work AND do most of the domestic & child care, etc. It will drive most people insane. Anyway, I think this is a very good story, nails the ending, and also has a surprising supporting cast (Conan O'Brien??? A$AP Rocky??? LOL. Christian Slater in a mostly voice role??). I just don't like the film style because it feels cheap and forced. Like a gimmick. And it's annoying that we never see her daughter. I do like the psychological thriller vibe it has going though. 

2. Die My Love -
I loved this! Way more than I thought I was going to. And just like Lynne Ramsey's previous films, I know it's a film that is going to stick with me for years. I've never quite loved her films on first watch, but making something different and memorable is something to celebrate, so I'm a fan. But with this, I instantly fell in love. I love the way this couple is introduced to the audience. The sex scene is something, but I feel like I know who these people are and what their dynamic is immediately. I think some see this as a film about post-partem and motherhood (with the same themes as If I Had Legs I'd Kick You), but I don't really see it that way. I think it's more about this current romanticization of the whole "tradwife" culture. There is this whole push that claims women are depressed because they are part of the workforce instead of staying at home and taking care of the more traditional domestic elements. And to a degree, I think there is some truth to that. Not because women shouldn't be working, but because working sucks. It's great if you do something you love, but that's kind of rare. I do actually enjoy working, but I would rather stay home and watch movies??? HELLO??? Who wouldn't? However, it's extremely jarring for someone from NYC to move to a house in the middle of nowhere (that is falling apart) and become a housewife and mother all at the same time. I remember when I first moved to the suburbs because my husband bought a house (he literally bought a house the same week as our first date - big week for him!), and I absolutely hated it. I was used to apartment style living in commuter cities and now I'm surrounded by families and Whole Foods. It made me super depressed and I had to figure out how to make this lifestyle work for me. And I did have a mini mental breakdown, but I also had an extremely supportive and patient husband and not many women do. So I do think this film is similar to If I Had Legs... with the whole men are useless and clueless and just so fucking dumb angle. The scene with him bringing home the dog is infuriating - and this exact scenario happened to my sister-in-law. Her partner (not married but have three kids together) brought home a dog after she just had her second baby. As if she didn't have enough to deal with already!! And then that dog did not get proper training at all - so it's a nightmare. But in his head, I truly believe he thought he was doing a good thing because he's absolutely clueless and they are terrible at communicating (they've broken up more times than I can count). Meanwhile my husband and I (no kids), have discussed getting a dog for years but have not pulled the trigger because both of us are not 100%. He would never dream of just bringing home a dog. That's such a big decision that would affect both of our lives - he just would not make such a decision without me. I keep relating this movie to things in my own life, which is probably why I loved this movie so much - it feels real even if it's a bit sensationalized. Jennifer Lawrence is at her very best here and it's SHOCKING that she's not nominated for an Oscar considering that the Academy loves her and has nominated her for way less (*cough* American Hustle), and I'm going to go out on a limb and say that this performance is better than anything Kate Hudson will ever do. Robert Pattinson is given so little to do, but he's great as a total idiot. Plus, Sissy Spacek! The movie is basically A Woman Under the Influence, which I just watched for the first time a few years back and it FLOORED me. If you're a fan of that, then I think you'll love this too. Also, the soundtrack is incredible - "Love Me Tender" always reminds me of my grandma because it was her favorite Elvis song. And that "Apples and Bananas" song??? HOLY SHIT! The memories that came flooding back! I used to sing that all the time as a kid and I didn't realize it was an actual song - I think I always thought it was a song someone in my family made up?? I literally got goosebumps when I heard it (and I had it in my head for days afterwards "I like to ote ote ote opples and bononos"). And THAT ENDING. My God, it's perfect. 

3. Springsteen: Delivery Me From Nowhere -
This is awful. I've always been a big Springsteen fan, but even more so now living in NJ. I don't necessarily think he's someone who needs a biopic, though? Like, we all already know his life from his own words. There's kind of...nothing left to tell? So when it was announced, I was skeptical. But I didn't expect it to be this bad. First of all, casting Jeremy Allen White as Bruce Springsteen is a laughable decision for many reasons. He's a fantastic actor, and I've been a fan since his Shameless days (and his version of Lip is one of my favorite television characters of all time!). But this is a case of casting an actor *just* because he's popular. He doesn't look like Springsteen. He doesn't sound like Springsteen. He doesn't become Springsteen. I know White is from NY, but he's well-known for two Chicagoan roles. But also, NY is not NJ. Especially South Jersey. Jersey Shore people are very specific and you can literally point them out when you see them (not in a bad way...not like Jersey Shore tv show type people - who are all from Staten Island NEW YORK by the way). Just get an actor from New Jersey! There are a ton of them! And get someone who has a bit of a rugged, rock star look instead of a blonde pretty boy who literally models in his underwear. Nothing about him is rock and roll. AND HE CAN'T SING??? I probably could forgive the casting if he could sing! His "Born to Run" is HORRIFIC. He sounds fine with the Nebraska songs because they are quieter and within his vocal range, but still not great. UGH I could SCREAM just thinking about how awful this casting is. And aside from that - even if I could get past how infuriating this is - the movie is sooooo dull. I appreciate that it's not a normal biopic that goes from A to B in it's storytelling (those are the worst!), and instead it's about a slice of his life that shaped his career and the rest of his life, but....um...make it interesting??? I love that it shows his interest in true crime and his fascination with Badlands. It's cool to see where inspiration comes from - but this just never becomes interesting. And the other casting is weird too - Stephen Graham and Gabby Hoffman as his parents???? UM...what? It's just all bad. 

4. The Wrecking Crew -
This is fine. Nothing great, but has some entertaining moments. I think casting Dave Bautista and Jason Momoa as brothers seems like a great idea. And starting off with a Guns N' Roses song is also a great idea ("Paradise City" is such a classic song). But the rest of the movie is kind of predictable and fine. Momoa is great - and he nails the comedic delivery of some of his lines ("I'm getting paid???" made me laugh out loud). Bautista, however, struggled. I like him a lot and I think he's been great in some roles (as Drax and in Dune). But he's clunky with this dialogue and very, very stiff. Like he's reading off of cue cards or something. I also wish Morena Baccarin was in it more?? She's in a quick scene in the beginning but comes back for a terrific car chase sequence (she totally makes this scene). And I love Frankie Adams SOOOO much (from The Expanse!). And Ned from Spider-Man! Just an overall great supporting cast and all are underutilized. But, there's some really satisfying action sequences, and a great fight scene between Bautista and Momoa. On a side note: I screamed when he says "Wu-Tang Clan ain't nothing to fuck with" because I just screamed that during Jeopardy right before we watched this movie. The Wu-Tang Clan was one of the answers, so, obviously, I screamed this loudly to make my husband laugh and then it WAS IN THIS MOVIE! How weird! And it features a NEW song from RZA! (*fun fact* I've met most of the Wu-Tang Clan including RZA). 

5. Afterburn -
Dave Bautista double bill!! (I didn't actually watch these back-to-back. And I think I watched this one first, but I don't even remember because I watched them both over a month ago! I'm behind on the blog again. What's new!) Unfortunately, this would have definitely made my Worst Films of 2025 if I had seen it before I made my list. It's barely a 1 star movie. It sounds like it should be, at the very least, a mediocre post-apocalyptic sci-fi movie, but it's SO BAD. First of all, this is described as a "sci-fi/comedy" and it IS NOT. It's not funny...at all. Like, at no point is there a joke, unless Bautista saying "I knew this was a bad idea" over and over again is a joke? Also, Bautista just can NOT carry a film. I still like him, and I want him to do more movies, but he belongs in small supporting roles that don't require any emotions. Also, I always thought that guy from Game of Thrones was Scottish, but apparently he's Norwegian, but he's *I think* supposed to be Russian in this? Or Scottish? It's hard to tell. And I don't understand why people in France wouldn't be speaking...French? Have they been conquered? It's never really clear what exactly is happening in the world. I do like Olga Kurylenko though! Happy to see her, but wish it was in a better film. And the coat she wears in this is fabulous (my husband called it "apocalypse chic" LOL). Overall, though, this is just barely watchable - the plot is so thin and barely makes sense, there is no character development, shitty action scenes, and it's very, very dry. 

Saturday, February 14, 2026

Movie Marathon: The Terminator

1. The Terminator - I have not seen this in quite sometimes because usually when I'm in the mood for a Terminator movie, I'll watch T2 - for a few reasons: 1. Eddie Furlong 2. It's better (or so I thought) 3. I love when Sarah Connor is more of a badass (she's so innocent in the first one). But, man, this is a fantastic movie. I loved this rewatch, and I actually think that both this and T2 are close to movie masterpieces. I rated them both 4.5 stars and I think it's really hard to rank them. I'm going with this being #1 for the first time ever, simply because it started this whole iconic character and franchise. It's such a brutal sci-fi series that pulls no punches. The effects in this are a little silly, but great for the early 80s (and the tech gets better with each film). I would say the makeup is the only thing that is hard to forgive. But otherwise, I love everything about it - the ending, the intensity, all of the quotable dialogue. Plus, Bill Paxton's little cameo in this gives him the title of being the only actor to be killed by a Xenomorph, a Terminator, and a Predator! How cool! 

2. Terminator 2: Judgement Day - As much as I love the first one, I will say that I'm personally more entertained by this one. I love Edward Furlong so much - he was so good as a child actor (this and American History X are among my favorite films and performances). The audience instantly falls in love with this smart-ass kid, John Connor, and believes that he's the key to saving the world. I also grew up in Southern California and used to ride my bike and play with my friends in those flood tunnels. It was the perfect place for kids to play! So to see it be a part of an intense chase scene was really cool as a kid. Sarah Connor becomes one of the most iconic female characters of all-time in this, and I love that it starts with her in a mental institution because it feels very realistic (that's what happens to women who tell the truth! Nobody believes them! They are crazy!). But the true genius of this is that Arnold's Terminator is no longer the enemy. It was such a good twist when I first watched it - now it seems so normal, but if you really think back to the first time you watched this it was SO COOL the moment you realize he's not there to kill them. WHAT A TWIST!! Plus, the actual "bad guy" the T-1000, played brilliantly by Robert Patrick, is actually terrifying. The technology and special effects are a MILLION times better than the first one (my husband says this is when "CGI peaked"), and it's also funny! Apparently we watched an extended addition but this is the only version I remember. My husband had not seen it though and was freaking out with every additional scene. LOL. 

3. Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines - This was extremely shocking to me because I assumed the 3rd movie was bad. Most 3rd movies of franchises are bad. I remember it being bad. BUT IT'S NOT. I don't think it's great, but it's still a super fun watch with a shocking, unexpected, brutal-as-fuck ending. And if Eddie reprised his role???? It would have been another 4 star banger. I also think Claire Danes is a bit of a miscast, but probably made sense in 2003. She was more of a movie star then with Romeo + Juliet being such a big hit (I've never been the biggest Claire Danes fan - she's a good crier and that's about it, but also I would not describe her as a "movie" star now, she is definitely a TV queen, though). I also think the "bad guy" in this is a bit weak - if you get a woman to do it, she needs to be an actual badass - not some petite Baywatch looking young girl. Like, Michelle Rodriguez would have been great. I would have believed it! But overall, I was shockingly entertained. I like the story, some of the chase sequences are outstanding, and like I said, the ending really hits hard. Just superb. 

4. Terminator Salvation - It's tough to continue the story after such a brutal ending from the 3rd one, but I remember being really excited for this when it was released. It was my first Terminator movie that I saw in the theater (I was too young for the first two, and I don't think I even watched the 3rd one until years after release). I remember that I liked it, but I thought Christian Bale was awful, and I was confused by the timeline. It definitely helps watching this right after watching the first 3 as far as the timeline is concerned, but also this one is where the timeline starts to get really muddled. It takes place in the future after the nuclear bomb explodes and the machines have taken over, and we see an adult John Connor (played by Bale - absolutely excruciating in this role) and we see a teenage Kyle Reese (who is Connor's father) played by Anton Yelchin (RIP), which is already confusing. And then they add a new character - the surprising highlight because Sam Worthington is actually good in this! There's also Bryce Dallas Howard - who is supposed to be an older Claire Danes?? Weird. The cast is definitely hit-or-miss. Plus, no Arnold (the digital cameo doesn't count). I think McG does a good job with the post-apocalyptic universe vibe, but also it's very colorless and the shaky cam becomes very grating. It just kind of feels like it's in a different universe from the first 3, there's no humor or campiness. But it certainly isn't a bad movie, just...different. 

5. Terminator Genisys - Personally, I think this is the only bad one of the bunch, which is quite a feat with a total of 6 movies (so far!). And by bad, I mean average - I rated 2.5 stars. There's a lot of things that I don't like about it. First of all, the CGI is described as "ground breaking" - I'm guessing it's described that way because of all the de-aging tech used (and this was early days de-aging tech), but NO THANK YOU! I hate it now and I hated it then. I would prefer them to cast younger actors than to de-age someone. It always looks bad. Second, the timeline for this is really confusing because it's an "alternate" timeline - so not only do we need to follow a linear past/present/future timeline, but now we have this side timeline too??? WHY??? There's still a lot of story you can tell with the REGULAR timeline! Third, Emilia Clarke as Sarah Connor is probably one of my least favorite casting decisions of all time. I mean, I'm glad they didn't just use a de-aged Linda Hamilton, but at least find someone with Hamilton's essence?? Clarke is so dull! Fourth, the John Connor "twist" is utterly ridiculous - they are trying to pull off the Arnold twist in T2, and it just doesn't work at all. The film really takes a steep decline with this reveal. FIFTH (!!), I hate Jai Courtney AND Matt Smith, sooooo UGH to both of them in this. Okay, I think I'm done with all the reasons I hated it. The positives are - Lee Byung-hun as a T-1000 (LOVE HIM!!), Arnold is BACK, and J.K. Simmons says one of my favorite lines of the whole franchise ("Goddamn time traveling robots!" - it's the way he says it.). I also think some of the effects are strong, and the chase sequences are always on point. I think I actually liked it better with this rewatch (again, this is definitely a franchise that benefits from watching them close together otherwise I think it's just too confusing). 

6. Terminator: Dark Fate - When I first decided to rewatch all of the Terminator films, I thought this one would rank 3rd. I really liked it when I first watched it. Solid 3 star movie (meaning higher end 3 star - almost 3.5). I still think that, but I do think T3 is more in the spirit of the films (they seem to get too serious after T3. Camp is good when it's done well! I wish they kept more of the campiness.). And honestly, I went into this franchise rewatch thinking that I would only enjoy the first 2 and this one, and that's completely wrong - I actually had a lot of fun watching all of them. But the real highlight with this one is that I love seeing Arnold and Linda Hamilton together again - and Hamilton is SO GOOD in this. It almost makes you forget about the Emilia Clarke fiasco. I'm also a big fan of Mackenzie Davis - and I think this is a good example of a woman who doesn't necessarily look tough, but she IS. She has that essence about her that you don't want to fuck with. I'm not a fan of the woman who seems to be taking over the franchise, though. She's very weak in this - and not believable in the role of the next "savior" character. That whole plot is dumb, and again, it's creating a completely different timeline?? I think?? I'm so confused. Anyway, I think Arnold does a great job in this as an older Terminator - he's taking care of a mother and her son, after realizing that killing people is wrong. His line reading of "And I'm extremely funny" is still hilarious. I'm really hoping that the next one brings back Edward Furlong! I think he's doing good now! Give him another chance! The fans would LOVE it. 


Ranking: 
The Terminator
T2
T3 
Dark Fate 
Salvation 
Genisys 

Thursday, February 5, 2026

Thoughts on 5 Films

1. A Big Bold Beautiful Journey -
While I liked a lot about this movie, ultimately I am disappointed by the execution. After Yang was my favorite film of 2022, so I'm really looking forward to more from Kogonada (he also directed some of Pachinko), but this was just too boring to be interesting. But first, things I loved! I adore Colin Farrell (one of my favorite actors, for real) and Margot Robbie - both of them have terrific screen presence and handle the emotional beats of this story really well. Farrell gets to keep his accent too!! LOVE! I also love what it's trying to say about dating and communication - basically how each new person you date causes you to relive moments of your life in order for you to get to know one another. And if you've lived through trauma (who hasn't?), then this becomes a tough obstacle and it almost causes an imbalance if one person is more willing to communicate and relive their past. I feel this whole concept deeply. I hate talking about my childhood and rarely do, I know it bothers my husband, because he feels like I'm not communicating or trusting him to handle it well. But it's far more simple than that - I JUST DON'T WANT TO! I also love the scene in which they are looking down on Earth - such a beautiful scene. And they use one of my favorite songs of all time - "First Day of My Life" by Bright Eyes. But as far as what I don't like - as much as I do adore Farrell and Robbie, they have shockingly little chemistry. The dialogue between them feels extremely forced and inauthentic (and why God why is Margot Robbie wearing silk pajamas to a wedding?? I'm so confused! And then in another scene she has a God awful Breton hat. Ew. The costume designer failed big time with this project.). And while I liked the more magical feel to this love story, the whole magic rental car bit is so stupid. Like, the dumbest plot point of a movie I've seen in a while. I'm also going to say something pretty bold - I don't like Phoebe Waller-Bridge. I know she was great in that ONE show (Fleabag, in which she also created), but she's been horrendous in everything else, this included. Also, I had NO IDEA that she's with one of my all time favorite directors, Martin McDonagh!! That's crazy! Anyway, I wish this was more exciting, more charming, just more of anything, really. 

2. Tron: Ares -
To be honest with you, I should have watched the original Tron and Legacy before watching this. I know I've seen them, but I don't remember a lot. I actually remember Tron more than Legacy probably because I watched it a handful of times as a kid. But I do remember being pleasantly surprised by Legacy. But I think I would have enjoyed this more if I remembered the first two more vividly. However, I still enjoyed it. It's a solid 3 star movie. Nothing more, nothing less. Some of it is excellent - the visuals are OUTSTANDING, but the music is probably the best part. Nine Inch Nails really knocked it out of the park with this - and should be Oscar nominated for Original Score. Honestly, it should have been nominated for some of the effects too. But the problem is obviously the acting. I actually like Jared Leto as an actor (he's a fucking lunatic cult leader but both things can be true at the same time. And we give Tom Cruise and others a pass for that, so I'm not sure why Leto receives such hatred. He has some outstanding performances under this belt - My So-Called Life, Requiem For a Dream, Dallas Buyers Club, etc.), but it's a little ridiculous that they make a super-soldier a 54 year old man??? LOL. It's like casting Brad Pitt as an F1 driver! Give me a fucking break. Greta Lee is gorgeous, but I hate her so much on The Morning Show. Sometimes it literally looks like she's reading off of cue cards on that show. She was good in Past Lives (not as good as her costar, but whatever), so I was willing to give her another chance, but sorry, I don't see her as a lead in a film like this. She doesn't have the...oomph, I guess. And what the Hell is Evan Peters doing with this role? I LOVE Evan Peters! I feel like he took the campiness of his Ryan Murphy characters though, so instead of being a realistic tech villain, he's a ridiculous tech villain. The saving grace is Gillian Anderson (obvi) and of course a nice scene with Jeff Bridges. I had fun with this, though. It moves really quickly and has an interesting plot. And it's cool to look at, which is really all I want when watching a film like this. 

3. HIM -
I didn't know much about this, but I read a headline about the critical battering it received, in which Marlon Wayans responded to by claiming critics just "didn't get it" and that it's "ahead of it's time" or something like that. Which honestly, made me want to watch the film for myself (so kudos to him for sticking up for it), but the critics are right - it's bad. And not because it's too complex, or too ahead of the times, but because it's exactly the opposite of those two things. The symbolism and heavy-handed message is so in your face it's like you're being tackled with it (see my cheesy football reference?? That's how the whole movie feels). I do think it should get some credit for trying to tackle big ideas, and also that it feels different than a lot of films that do the same. There's a chaotic energy to it that I actually dig. And I think Wayans does a fantastic job, as does the star Tyric Withers (he's also extremely hot, so that always helps). The concept is also strong - a horror movie that is centered on American Football and how it treats young black men. The commentary is obviously that black men are being sacrificed for entertainment - it basically equates football to the Roman gladiator games. And it's all true! Not, like, a true story, but it reveals a lot about the industry as a whole. The cult-like relationships between the higher-ups, and also how quick they are to find the next "new thing". The final bloodbath is excellent. It's just needs a little bit more of a cohesive thread; it's definitely a case of style over substance. Like, it's so close to being a good movie, but they just throw so much at it to see what sticks it becomes a bit of a chore to watch. Also, I like Julia Fox as an actress, but I can't even look at her with those bleached eyebrows. 

4. The Rip -
Oh man, what a disappointment!! Matt and Ben together again - and as cops (!) should be a slam dunk. But this is a distinctly average Netflix movie. And the reason for it is exactly what Matt Damon has said in the press about Netflix movies - it's made for an audience looking at their phones instead of the film. They have to overexplain every plot detail multiple times in case you weren't paying attention! "your brother, the fed" was stated multiple times and the whole giving different dollar amounts to expose the rat was beaten to death by Damon. I think he explained it at least 10 times. I couldn't get past the whole repetitive, circular nature of the storytelling. It's sad that movies are being made for an audience with a diminished attention span. There has to be a better solution?? I'm surprised they got so much talent to agree to this horrific script (written by Joe Carnahan himself! He should be embarrassed by this). Not only Matt and Ben, but Steven Yeun, Teyana Taylor, Catalina Moreno, and Kyle Chandler?? HOW? WHY? The shining star is Sasha Calle (who was royally screwed by The Flash fiasco and she was INNOCENT. We need to make her a star!). The whole plot is just about this "rip" - a bunch of cash that they find that is assumed to be linked to drugs/weapons etc, and who is going to take "the rip". It's obvious within...maybe 30 minutes? I wasn't paying attention to the time, but there is a phone call that reveals who it is very quickly and then we are forced to still watch it all play out for what seems like FOREVER. And the one cop gets shot and then KEEPS COUNTING money...LOL. That's how dumb this movie is. I can't lie, I was still entertained, but I rolled my eyes A LOT. On a side note, I would LOVE a film in which Matt & Ben are on actual opposite sides - they try to trick you into thinking that's what's happening here, but I'd be shocked if anyone fell for it (maybe the ones looking at their phones?). 

5. The Running Man -
I rated this 2.5 stars (which means average in my book), but honestly, I fucking hated it. I can't, in good consciousness rate it lower than 2.5 though because it's made well. Edgar Wright can make a film with his eyes closed and it would still be better than most other films. But my problem is this: It's so rare to find an old movie (almost 40 years old!) that can be remade today and be even more relevant to our modern world, but The Running Man (1987) is that movie. There's SO MUCH that could have been done with this remake but instead we get an angry Glen Powell angrily stomping about, angrily. He's VERY ANGRY in case you didn't catch that. I'm someone who very early on noted Glen Powell as being the HIGHLIGHT of Scream Queens (he was funny!), but I do not understand how he has attained superstar status so quickly. It reminds me of Chris Evans - he has nice abs, and a nice face, and he's also got non-threatening teddy bear vibe. But can he act? Can he carry a film? NO! But he's being thrust into leading man status, getting roles he's not right for, and it will soon fall apart (look at Evans post Marvel career. He's horrendous in everything). Powell is particularly awful in this movie - he has one emotion. Can you guess what it is? ANGRY! There's really nothing else to say about the movie - it has the same premise as the original, pretty much, and they really go nowhere with it. And I feel like with the social commentary that this film should invoke, my brain should have been swirling with thoughts and ideas, but here are the notes that I took while watching this: 
- I have those red Puma sneakers!
- What did Josh Brolin do to his teeth? I hope that's just for this character and not what he looks like in real life?? 
- I like the nod to Derry, Maine (Stephen King shoutout!)
- That was Lee Pace the WHOLE TIME?!! Wow. That actually caught me off guard. 
That's it. I wrote down 4 things. I don't take a ton of notes while watching movies, and a lot of times most of the notes are so random that I don't even add them to my blog. But this is pathetic.